Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
VERY moist cake, simple to make, tastes very good but the banana is the primary flavor, I was hoping the pineapple and coconut (I added) would be the focus and the banana would be a background flavor. I changed the recipe some but will tweak it again next time I make it to try to perfect my idea of what hummingbird cake should be. I keep uneaten bananas (I call them baking bananas) in my freezer, defrosted 3 of them which came out to about 1 cup of banana mash - would use 2 baking bananas next time. I did not drain my pineapple (8 oz crushed), next time I would use a 10 or 12 oz can as I was hoping it would stand out a little more. I added I cup of shredded coconut (will use a little more next time 1.5 cups maybe). I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 3/4 cups packed brown sugar and vegetable oil as I was out of applesauce but I would probably still use some/mostly oil because it makes it so moist. I also added a generous splash of vanilla and about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I baked everything at 325 degrees in dark, non-stick Baking Pam'd pans: 2 mini bunt cakes (single serving/large cupcake size) for 32 minutes, 5 regular cupcakes for 26 minutes both are so moist I may not frost them and serve them to my boys for breakfast! I put the remainder of the cake in a 13x9 and baked it a total of 1 hour, it looks dark on top but still feels moist, I won't know if it's overdone until tomorrow. I would use this as a banana bread recipe, still trying to perfect my version, not a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denece Frisbie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!! I had to cut the oil 3/4 C. Oil, 3/4 C. Applesauce for Heath reasons. And I used the juice and all from the pineapple. SUPER MOIST. I also sprinkled cinnamon sugar "generously" on top of cake before baking. I made an orange flavored cream cheese frosting as a filler, and decorated with "Rick's special buttercream" cutting the sugar by 1 1/2 cups. The flavor combination is amazing. Thanks for the recipe!!! Oh, I baked in 9" round pans at 325* for about 50-55 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I do cook it about 5-10 minutes longer, but thats my preference. The taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quin
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
it tastes amazing, however I did take the advice from someof the other rreviews. I added 1tsp of cinnamon 1tsp of allspice. I added a half cup of brown sugar and I used the juice from the can of crushed pineapples. i also used walnuts and pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was going through a baking urge and chose this to make one night for dessert. I did make a few changes though, I didn't drain the pineapple, used pecans and I used a store bought cream cheese icing (didn't want to make a trip to the store and had the frosting already). I must say that the cake is good, not great. While, I love banana bread, I was expecting this would not be so similar to it. If I ever made this again I would probably tweek it even further by using LESS banana, probably a cup vs the two and I would probably haul my butt to the store to get the ingredients for the frosting because the store bought stuff has a bit of an artificial taste to it. If you LOVE banana bread then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Followed the recipe except: I mashed the bananas in a food processor and added fresh pineapple to that and pureed it all together. I baked it in a full sheet cake pan and it only need about 45-50 minutes at 350. Great texture and flavor! Thanks for getting me outside the basic cake box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Is it a good cake? Yes, moist and sweet and everything you want in a scratch cake. It's easy to make too. Just be prepared that the dominant flavor is banana. It could easily be called banana cake. I followed the recipe exactly. Pineapple was in there somewhere but you couldn't taste it. Just banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
every one loved it it was nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great recipe, very moist and tasty cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
The cake came out delicious. It will be five stars next time with the following tweaks. I found cooking it the full hour made it a little dry so next time I'll cut back to 50min. I also added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1tsp Vanilla and I think that really made it extra delicious, wouldn't have been so good without it. Brought it into the office and all my coworkers loved it. Otherwise a great cake I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States