Hummingbird Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe... when I make it I substitute the oil for 1 1/2 cups of apple sauce... everything else stays the same. Its much less fattening and just as delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
We love this cake. I have made it before and it turned out great this time too. I ran out of granulated sugar so subbed some turbinado sugar. I also baked this in a 10" x 15" cake pan for about 30 minutes. I used buttercream frosting because I didn't have any cream cheese. I think this cake would be fine without any frosting if you want to save time and calories. This easily mixes up by hand. No need to break out the Kitchenaid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Good recipe, but I found that the batter was thin to accommodate three 9-inch layers. Next time will pour only two, reduce temp to 325 and cook appx 10 minutes longer. I added 1/2 cup coconut, which I will increase to 3/4 cup next time. I also used more pineapple and banana than called for, which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This cake is amazing! The only changes I made were to 1) replace 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil with 3/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, 2) toast the chopped pecans and walnuts in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees and 3) add about 1/2 cup coconut. It tastes very similar to the hummingbird cake from Magnolia Bakery and Buttercup Bakeshop here in NYC. I frosted the cake with a pecan cream cheese frosting: 1) 1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature, 2) 8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature, 3) 1 pound box confectioner’s sugar, 4) 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract, 5) 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans, 6) 1/4 cup coursely chopped pecans and 7) 1/2 cup coconut. I made the frosting by hand but you can use a mixer. Start by beating the butter and cream cheese until they're very smooth then add the powdered sugar a little at a time until the mixture is smooth. Then mix in the vanilla extract followed by 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans. Spread the frosting on the cake and sprinkle the coconut and 1/4 cup coursely chopped pecans all over the top and sides of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Super easy and super good! I made 34 cupcakes with this recipe - baked for 20 minutes at 350. Frosted with the cream cheese icing from the "Hummingbird Cake II" recipe from this Web site. Big hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErinK07
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful cake - and easy too! I only use 3/4 vegetable oil though and divide the batter between 2 9" baking pans. I top with a cream cheese icing (8oz cream cheese; 1/2 unsalted butter; 16oz confectioners' sugar; 1 tsp vanilla extract) The last time I made this cake I put a layer of cream cheese icing and a layer of crushed pineapple between the two layers of cake. Then sprinkled it with chopped nuts - Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This cake is wonderful. I followed the recipe but added a little more banana and used a tube pan, increased the cooking time to 70 minutes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I have made this recipe several times for birthdays. It always gets rave reviews. I usually make only 2 layers and frost it with cream cheese frosting. Wonderful and original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I did everything I could to make this cake healthier which usually makes it taste worse, but it was still the best cake I have ever made. I brought it to a potluck and everyone agreed. I used applesauce instead of oil (equal amount), used one cup all purpose, one cup oat, and one cup whole wheat flour, one cup white and one cup coconut sugar, 3 mashed bananas, regular walnuts instead of pecans and black walnuts, and for the frosting I used kefir cheese instead of cream cheese. It was so moist and delicious! If it was this good with all of my healthier substitutions, I can't imagine how amazing it would be if it was made as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Ohhhh my goodness this cake was sooooo goood...my husband and daughter ate it up...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States