Hummingbird Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is the best cake I've ever made! Did make a couple of minor changes due to diet preference. For the oil I used 1/2 unrefined coconut oil and 1/2 unsweetened applesauce. Cut sugar by 1/2 cup. Everything else as stated in recipe. Baked in 3 tins, done in 22 minutes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Yes I have tried this recipe and it's my most requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
came out delicious & moist. i added 1 c. shredded coconut. doesn't need icing. the family loved it as is. this will be added to the cake repertoire permanently. next time i'll make a caramel glaze for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoundCakePimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this cake a few years ago and loved it! I've since learned that I have a mild allergy to wheat, so I made a few alterations to the recipe to make it gluten-free and it turned out fabulous! All purpose gluten free flour, 1 & 1/2 tsp xanthan gum, 2 extra eggs (all eggs beaten until fluffy) and 1/2 cup extra banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I did everything I could to make this cake healthier which usually makes it taste worse, but it was still the best cake I have ever made. I brought it to a potluck and everyone agreed. I used applesauce instead of oil (equal amount), used one cup all purpose, one cup oat, and one cup whole wheat flour, one cup white and one cup coconut sugar, 3 mashed bananas, regular walnuts instead of pecans and black walnuts, and for the frosting I used kefir cheese instead of cream cheese. It was so moist and delicious! If it was this good with all of my healthier substitutions, I can't imagine how amazing it would be if it was made as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This cake was really good! I made it last christmas, and my family was raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This cake is wonderful. I followed the recipe but added a little more banana and used a tube pan, increased the cooking time to 70 minutes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Ohhhh my goodness this cake was sooooo goood...my husband and daughter ate it up...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I love this cake! I tastes better than the one at a local bakery! I made it exactly as posted. But I only made two layers and baked it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is more like a mixed banana bread than a cake. Like others I subbed 1 1/2 c applesauce for the oil. I added a little bit of all spice and about 1/4 t nutmeg and an extra banana. I aslo like a darker flavor and did 1/2 the sugar as brown. I added 1/4 cup reg. coconut and 1/4 cup toasted coconut. This made 6 large muffins and 24 regular sized. Again, they didn't perk up at all and were not fluffy like cake. Next time I may add baking powder and or/ add beaten egg whites or something. If I wanted banana bread I would not have made cake.. tasted okay though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States