Hummingbird Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Yes I have tried this recipe and it's my most requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
came out delicious & moist. i added 1 c. shredded coconut. doesn't need icing. the family loved it as is. this will be added to the cake repertoire permanently. next time i'll make a caramel glaze for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoundCakePimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this cake a few years ago and loved it! I've since learned that I have a mild allergy to wheat, so I made a few alterations to the recipe to make it gluten-free and it turned out fabulous! All purpose gluten free flour, 1 & 1/2 tsp xanthan gum, 2 extra eggs (all eggs beaten until fluffy) and 1/2 cup extra banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I did everything I could to make this cake healthier which usually makes it taste worse, but it was still the best cake I have ever made. I brought it to a potluck and everyone agreed. I used applesauce instead of oil (equal amount), used one cup all purpose, one cup oat, and one cup whole wheat flour, one cup white and one cup coconut sugar, 3 mashed bananas, regular walnuts instead of pecans and black walnuts, and for the frosting I used kefir cheese instead of cream cheese. It was so moist and delicious! If it was this good with all of my healthier substitutions, I can't imagine how amazing it would be if it was made as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This cake was really good! I made it last christmas, and my family was raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This cake is wonderful. I followed the recipe but added a little more banana and used a tube pan, increased the cooking time to 70 minutes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Ohhhh my goodness this cake was sooooo goood...my husband and daughter ate it up...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I love this cake! I tastes better than the one at a local bakery! I made it exactly as posted. But I only made two layers and baked it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is more like a mixed banana bread than a cake. Like others I subbed 1 1/2 c applesauce for the oil. I added a little bit of all spice and about 1/4 t nutmeg and an extra banana. I aslo like a darker flavor and did 1/2 the sugar as brown. I added 1/4 cup reg. coconut and 1/4 cup toasted coconut. This made 6 large muffins and 24 regular sized. Again, they didn't perk up at all and were not fluffy like cake. Next time I may add baking powder and or/ add beaten egg whites or something. If I wanted banana bread I would not have made cake.. tasted okay though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Awesome cake. Will make cupcakes next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States