Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I made this for dessert at a church dinner and it was great! I had 3 messages the next day asking for the recipe and my pans were returned empty the next day with requests for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This cake was so good. My husband who is a very picky desert eater, loved this cake. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I suggest you ad a layer of sliced banana (put a little lemon juice to keep it fresh)& smashed banana & pineapple in-between the layers. This is a great cake for Easter if you put coconut (green for grass) on the top & decorate the whole pecans as Easter eggs. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This cake is great! My husband usually goes down to the local cafe to buy a slice and he said this cake was better than theirs.I made 2 nine inch layers. I only slightly drained the pineapple. The cake is dense but moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
Kids love this as well as adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I have been making this recipie for Easter every year. Great moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Thanks for sharing this delicious cake recipe, Dee. I've made this cake twice. Once as per recipe and the second time attempting to copy the one a small local deli serves.To bring this recipe more in line with that of the deli, I chopped half the bananas and mashed half and added 1/2t banana extract for a more enhanced banana flavor. I cut the oil to one cup and didn't drain the crushed pineapple; added 1/4t of cloves and an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, and toasted the pecans. I used your cream cheese frosting, but toasted extra pecans, chopped small and gently pushed them into the frosting all over the cake.The result was fabulous. I'm continually being asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This was awesome - make sure that your bananas are SUPER ripe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this cake as healthy as I could: Substituted all but 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil with 1 3/4 cups lite apple sauce. I substituted eggbeaters for eggs & splenda for sugar. The result was a very dense but absolutely DELICIOUS cake. Very, very sweet so best with a cup of coffee or even coffee ice cream - to tame the sweetness. I made this as a layer cake (2 9 inch cakes). I layered smooshed banana & crushed pineapple as the in-between layer. Very very good to get that punch of flavor but be sure to thoroughly dry the crushed pineapple otherwise it gets kinda leaky. I cooked the cake at 325 in a confectioner's oven for 45 minutes. I watched it very very closely to ensure it did not burn. I topped with toasted coconut. My dad could not stop raving. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was so moist and flavorful and everyone loved it! Most went back for seconds. I made only two layers and baked them about 15 minutes longer and I used a different cream cheese frosting recipe that is less sweet. The batter was really thick unlike "plain" cakes but it didn't turn out too dense at all. It was just right! Thank you for the recipe. Oh, and my bananas were not extremely ripe - just a slight bit green around the tip but it wasn't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States