Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A wonderful twist I would have never thought of! This + pineapple ice cream was a great way to end the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this for a birthday work party. Everyone loved it (except 2 who didn't like pineapple, their loss!). Next time I will try it with less oil though. I did put a layer of frosting in between 2 9 inch layers with some more pineapple and bananas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
It was okay but giving the recipe the benefit of the doubt is that I didn't do something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I've made this twice - once substituting 1c applesauce for 1c of oil, and once making it as stated in the recipe. Both times the cake had a wonderful flavor. I think it was much better before it was frosted. As others have said, the frosting is very sweet, and it overpowers the light fruity cake. I will have to experiment with frostings, but the cake is really lovely. Oh, and I will only make it with the applesauce next time b/c it doesn't seem to change the texture or flavor noticeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is based upon the rating my uncle gave me. He had an aunt that always use to make it. He requested for someone to give it a shot and I have become the "baker" in the family and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good. I made a few changes because I was short on ingredients but it was still perfectly wonderful. A great cake...I was told that this was "the best cake I have ever tasted" by more than one person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. My Aunt always made a Hummingbird Cake that was delicious and I'm glad I have found an almost exact replica of hers. Thank You so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This cake has great flavor! It is very dense but moist. I made it in a single layar but next time I will do a double layar and try putting the banana slices in between. I think using very ripe bananas would also enhance the flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious, and very similar to one I have been making for years with wonderful results!! When I make this recipe my husband devours it within hours, so I strive to make it (a bit) healthier by substituting the vegetable oil for apple sauce. I have used both chunky and smooth, and both work great, although I prefer the chunky myself. Its just as delicious, and you cut out tons of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
i was told it tasted like banana bread with icing when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mannor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States