Hummingbird Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this cake today for work and everyone loved it! It is a dense cake, but very good indeed. I am giving it 4 stars because I did change a few things: 1) doubled the cinnamon 2) added 1 tsp ground cloves 3) used only 3/4 cup vegetable oil and then substituted apple sauce for the other 3/4 cup 4) mashed 1/2 of the bananas 5) did not drain the pineapple 6) no nuts in my icing. It was great! Next time I think I'll use all applesauce and no veg. oil. Thanks for the great recipe and the previous suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is a very good cake. It has become a favorite family holiday cake. The banana does tend to overpower the pineapple sometimes so i don't drain the juice all the way. Also make sure your bananas are very ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this cake is fantastic, for starters i bake it in a round tin rather thatn a jelly-roll pan. I usually use 4 medium to large really ripe bananas for fuller flavour, i also add a whole can of the crushed pineapple (if you in australia the golden circle one)so then the cake is really moist and stays that way for days. its also great becasue its dairy free, i then make it even more over the top by covering it with a banana frosting using dairy free margerine then srinkle shreaded coconut over it.. my mum loves this cake i have to stop her eating it all in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
The other reviewer was right...use baking soda, not baking powder. If your bananas aren't really ripe, just cut it into smaller pieces and it will get soft when baked. I coarse chop pecans that go into the cake then I finely chop another half cup or so to sprinkle over the frosting. That way it doesn't have to look pretty, the pecans hide it. This bakes well as a layer cake but I usually make it as a bundt or in a rectangle pan. Most people don't care how pretty it is, it doesn't last long enough to look at it lol. You can try to make this healthier but I doubt it's possible...it is NOT a diet cake, it's a heavy wet cake. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICANGEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Made this cake for Mom's day and it was a big hit! Made it 2-9" rounds for a layer cake... Those instructions puzzled me...??? Did 3/4c oil and 3/4c applesauce and I could tell it would've been better with all oil, but healthier and still quite moist with the substitution. Did ARs Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting and it was GREAT with this cake. So much lighter than ones that use butter. I got the bigger can of crushed pineapple, mixed 1 cup into batter, drained the rest and mixed it into 1/3 of the frosting for the filling... That part was THE BEST. Next time I'll put a thicker layer of that. Coated the whole thing in sweetened shredded coconut and stuck a little hummingbird I got at the craft store in the center. Made the cakes and frosting the night before, assembled in the a.m. so it was pretty easy. BFs Mom was impressed and she's a world class cooker & baker =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
it seemed okay but wasn't as good as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Amazing! I didn't think I'd like it just reading the ingredients, but I tweaked the recipe a little bit and this came out to be one of the best cakes I've ever tasted. I reduced the oil to 1 cup and didnt drain the pineapple. I added a touch more vanilla and cinnamon and also mashed half of the bananas. In between layers I put a layer of sliced bananas and pineapple. I ommitted any nuts and instead used coconut on the top and sides. I dusted my pans with cinnamon sugar which gave the cake a nice soft sort of crust. I also used a different cream cheese frosting recipe that wasn't as sweet as this one. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Okay...so nobody else has mentioned this..but is there a chance that it was supposed to be baking soda and NOT baking powder? Because i followed the recipe exactly and the cake is not so much a cake as a really dense doughy bread...and after having perused all the other hummingbird recipes they all say soda and not powder. Haven't tasted it yet but just on texture alone, i'm a more than a little disappointed to say the least. I did notice that others said it was a dense cake but i didin't think that it was going to be anything like what i got. I've had hummingbird cake before and it was fabulous...this not so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I'm just rating the cake portion of this recipe. Fantastic, I didn't change a thing. It was much more dense than I expected sort of like banana bread. The pineapple in it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I made a few changes. Here is Hummingbird Cake: Stefani Style. I added 3 t of coconut flavoring. I used only one banana. Adding 2 c of banana made it taste a bit too much like banana bread to me. I doubled the pineapple. Then I added a touch more coconut flavoring to the icing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States