Hummingbird Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I went to post this same recipe tonight and saw it was here already!! It is great. The only thing I do differently is cut out more than 50% of the fat by using 1/2 cup oil and the other cup I use fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
One of my family's favorite cakes. Sooooo delicious, you have to try it if you never have! It is very rich and moist and flavorful and chockful of good things, and children love it, too. The cake ingredients are just stirred together, so it couldn't be simpler to make. The cream cheese frosting is also fool-proof and is the perfect complement to the fruit flavors in the cake ('though I make double the amount of frosting and use it all!). By the way, this makes a big, magnificent birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This was a delicious cake. The only thing that I would change for the next time I make it is add another can of pineapple. I didn't really taste it. But other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Prepared exactly as written and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
EVERY TIME I MAKE THE HUMMING BIRD CAKE, I GET A LOT OF REQUESTS FOR THE RECIPE AND TO MAKE MORE. THIS IS A VERY GOOD AND MOIST CAKE. EASY TO MAKE. I LOVE IT. ZENOBIA SPARTANBURG, S.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made this cake for Christmas dessert and it was good. I did sub apple sauce for the oil only because I did not have any and it tasted great very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I loved this cake. I added an extra 1/2 cup pineapple, drained and frosted with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2000
Very Tasty Hummingbird Cake! It turned out very moist. I doubled the recipe for the frosting and used all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made this yesterday it was very good. Used alittle less powder sihar since hubby likes it less sweet and added a little pineapple juice to thin it so it would drizzle easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I know I'm the lone wolf reviewer, but this taasted like bananna bread with runny icing. The icing did set up a bit after refrigerated, but it was a bit too thin. (My cupcakes were completely cooled, so it wasn't heat that melted the icing.) I left out the nuts, and made 24 cupcakes with the cake mix because I was having about 10 children over. One of boys told me "they weren't very good", and sadly, a few were left unfinished. The kids that did like them, said they tasted like bananna bread. I think I'll pass on fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States