Hummingbird Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2000
Very Tasty Hummingbird Cake! It turned out very moist. I doubled the recipe for the frosting and used all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
EVERY TIME I MAKE THE HUMMING BIRD CAKE, I GET A LOT OF REQUESTS FOR THE RECIPE AND TO MAKE MORE. THIS IS A VERY GOOD AND MOIST CAKE. EASY TO MAKE. I LOVE IT. ZENOBIA SPARTANBURG, S.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
One of my family's favorite cakes. Sooooo delicious, you have to try it if you never have! It is very rich and moist and flavorful and chockful of good things, and children love it, too. The cake ingredients are just stirred together, so it couldn't be simpler to make. The cream cheese frosting is also fool-proof and is the perfect complement to the fruit flavors in the cake ('though I make double the amount of frosting and use it all!). By the way, this makes a big, magnificent birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I went to post this same recipe tonight and saw it was here already!! It is great. The only thing I do differently is cut out more than 50% of the fat by using 1/2 cup oil and the other cup I use fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Prepared exactly as written and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This was a delicious cake. The only thing that I would change for the next time I make it is add another can of pineapple. I didn't really taste it. But other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Excellent cake! I made a similar recipe for my host father's birthday when I was a foreign exchange student in Austria two years ago. The only difference between this one and the one I used (which I've checked against this one and they have the same proportions of ingredients) is that the one I used called for another cup of chopped walnuts to be sprinkled on top. I'm mentioning this only because by mistake I put the whole two cups of chopped walnuts into the cake! The only other changes were that I put in more cinnamon and the cake was baked in a bread loaf pan because we didn't have any cake pans. Also, I didn't bother with the cream cheese frosting because it was so good without! I definitely recommend the extra cup of nuts and leave off the frosting if you'd like it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Pretty bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I thought this would be a nice change from banana bread/cake - I like the idea of the pineapple... but it massively lacked in flavour to me. The only thing that saved it was the cream cheese frosting. I'll stick to my banana bread thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Amazing! Our whole family loved this - it didn't last a day! I made it as is but next time I will make it with less sugar & wheat flour. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States