Hummingbird Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This cake is very good but the icing is way to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I loved this cake. I added an extra 1/2 cup pineapple, drained and frosted with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I know I'm the lone wolf reviewer, but this taasted like bananna bread with runny icing. The icing did set up a bit after refrigerated, but it was a bit too thin. (My cupcakes were completely cooled, so it wasn't heat that melted the icing.) I left out the nuts, and made 24 cupcakes with the cake mix because I was having about 10 children over. One of boys told me "they weren't very good", and sadly, a few were left unfinished. The kids that did like them, said they tasted like bananna bread. I think I'll pass on fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This cake was moist and delicious. The only modifications I made were that I used pecans instead of walnuts and I used cake flour. Yummy!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Great cake! I've used pre-made packaged cream cheese frosting when needed and it works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is my signature cake and I get requests all the time to bring it to functions. It's easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Amazing! Our whole family loved this - it didn't last a day! I made it as is but next time I will make it with less sugar & wheat flour. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I thought this would be a nice change from banana bread/cake - I like the idea of the pineapple... but it massively lacked in flavour to me. The only thing that saved it was the cream cheese frosting. I'll stick to my banana bread thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Pretty bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Excellent cake! I made a similar recipe for my host father's birthday when I was a foreign exchange student in Austria two years ago. The only difference between this one and the one I used (which I've checked against this one and they have the same proportions of ingredients) is that the one I used called for another cup of chopped walnuts to be sprinkled on top. I'm mentioning this only because by mistake I put the whole two cups of chopped walnuts into the cake! The only other changes were that I put in more cinnamon and the cake was baked in a bread loaf pan because we didn't have any cake pans. Also, I didn't bother with the cream cheese frosting because it was so good without! I definitely recommend the extra cup of nuts and leave off the frosting if you'd like it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States