Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
MY HUSBAND LOVE, LOVE, LOVES THIS CAKE. HE REQUESTS IT FOR EVERY HOLIDAY DINNER. I USUALLY MAKE A TWO LAYER CAKE AND MAKE HOMEMADE CREAM CHEESE FROSTING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I think this is the best cake I've ever had. We used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I made this for a bridal shower and all of the bride to be's grandmother's, aunts, etc came up to me and said how wonderful this cake was! It received so many compliments!. It is an elegant cake for special occasions. I made it in 3 circle pans and put cm cheese icing in between and on the sides. Make sure bananas aren't too ripe, one of mine was and they tasted funny afterwards. I usually don't like nuts in anything, but they weren't too bad in this cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This cake is wonderful! I believe it has become my "signature cake" as friends & family constantly request it. I use a cream cheese icing from one of the other recipes and decorate with silk flowers and a little hummingbird figurine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe.....I did cut the oil down to 3/4 cup as per another review. I also added a cinnamon/nut topping. I used 1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cinnamon mixed together and sprinkled it evenly in the bottom of the pan before I poured the batter in. After it cooled I drizzled the cake with a lemon glaze. Co-workers and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Carrot cake with bananas instead (and not as good either). Nothing special. Really felt it a waste of time and ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I chose this recipe over the others listed b/c it called for the pineapple juice..I thought this would make it very moist. I was right...this was THE BEST! I also used the cream cheese frosting from the other recipe listed. My neighbor raved & asked for a copy of the recipe. Thanks for a great & easy cake to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
A very good and moist cake, but the banana flavor kind of over powers the pineapple taste. Even better with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this cake for dessert for a dinner party we went to. It was the hit of the party! It's not hard to make, it rises beautifully, and it tastes wonderful! I will definitely make it agai;n! Thankyou Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. I used a little less oil (about 3/4 cup) and it still came out moist. I also substituted Butter and Nut Extract in the icing instead of Vanilla. It's gives the icing a better, more unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States