Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love the recipe. But I did make some changes to it. First I seen everyone was changing the oil. So I changed it to 3/4 cup. I also just use one banana add 2 cups of pecans also used regular size of crush pineapple heavy in syrup. cook in 9 inch pan. 2 layers on 325 for 40 mins. Also made a cinnamon and brown sugar mixture. 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 table spoon of cinnamon. Mixed together in a bowl. I put 2 tubes of cream cheese icing into bowl and stir on sugar mixture evenly. let cake cool down for about an hour. Apply icing. put in the refrigerator until you ready to serve. The cake icing firm up nice and taste just great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
The taste was good but my cake didn't turn out as spongy...it was soft but not spongy texture. Can somebody tell what I must have done wrong? Where can i be careful next time. I want to make it again for my brother's bday on thursday. I used a spoon to mix everything..This time I am goign to use the cake attachment with the kitchen aid stand mixer.... Thank you in advance! and thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I have also made this in a 10-inch tube pan and it is very good. Cream cheese frosting is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
A very heavy and dense cake but the taste was quite good. As others suggested I reduced the amount of oil to 1/4 cup and added a cup of apple sauce. As well, I greased and then dusted my bundt pan with cinnamon sugar. This gave the cake a nice sweet surface so no icing was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
A great recipes....made even better with a few modifications to suit my taste. I reduced the vegetable oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup buttermilk. I also added about 3/4 cup coconut. Instead of dicing the bananas, I mashed them. I used two 8" round cake pans greased, floured, and the bottoms lined with parchment paper - I baked at 350F for approx 35-40 min. After the cakes cooled I assembled the layer cake, frosting the layers with cream cheese frosting and garnishing the side of the cake with more shredded coconut. Thanks Carol for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I had been wanting to make this cake for a while, so I was happy to find the recipe. I read the reviews first and noticed a lot of others thought reducing the oil was a good idea. I wanted to use apple sauce instead of oil anyway, so I thought I would use 1 to 1 1/4 cups apple sauce in place of the oil. I however, only had 3/4 cup apple sauce so I used it and also added 1/4 cup oil. I used 3 9" pans instead of the bundt pan as well, then frosted it with cream cheese frosting and pressed additional nuts into the frosting. The cake turned out wonderful, got a lot of compliments. But next time I will use 1 1/4 cups apple sauce and no oil. This will cut down on the fat and makes for a very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Cake was good. I would also recommend reducing the oil, like the other reviews mentioned. The oil seeped through my cardboard cake round. Next time I make it, in addition to less oil, I will try one banana instead of two, more pineapple, and possibly some coconut or coconut flour, and add some nutmeg and allspice. It is definately still good as is, but it tastes like a lighter banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This is a wonderful cake.I didnt use the bundt pan,instead I used 2 9" pans and had to adjust the cooking time by reducing 15 minutes less.I made this for the upscale Italian restaurant I work for and with all the fancy desserts we make this was a fun cake and everyone loved it, and its also really fun to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was so easy to make and turned out wonderfully. Everyone at work just loved it and wanted to know when I was making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and what a delicious cake. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States