Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe is really good, but not really anything special. I was surprised that you could taste the pineapple. I substituted applessauce for 1 cup of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessika393
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was a very interesting cake. I changed it a bit. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1 small individual container of applesauce. It was a good thing to make for a breakfast get together. I used store bought frosting and melted it on the microwave. Then, I poured it over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Pretty good cake. Easy to make. Will make it again. I did reduce oil to 3/4 cup. Reduced sugar to 1.5 cup and still was too sweet. Next time will use only 1 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was a delightfully different cake. It is moist and dense. I too mashed the bananas as suggested by another reviewer. I also cut oil by 1/4 cup as sugested by several others. I used a thin brown butter frosting and poured over warm cake. As it ran off the cake I kept drizzling the "run off" back on. It is a favorite frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I followed recipe only using leftover fresh pineapple from a wedding. The cake was gone in a day. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake is great for any occasion. My niece has ask me to make the desserts for her wedding. I will be making mini cakes with this recipe. This cake will be one of them for sure. The frosting I will use for this cake is: Cream Cheese Frosting 1 ( 8oz) pkg. cream cheese 1/2 cup butter 1 box powdered sugar, sifted 1 tsp. vanilla pecan halves Mix cream cheese and butter until smooth. Add sugar and vanilla. Mix well. *Chill the frosting before spreading between layers and on top and sides of cake. Arrange pecan halves on top and chill in refrigerator until time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I'm sorry I took another readers advice and reduced the oil to 3/4c. I think it would have been moister with the original 1 1/2c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
a little bit bland, I left out the cloves, added chopped pecans, but a nice cake type cookie, I will most likely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I was really disappointed with this cake. As some suggested I reduced the oil to 3/4 and added about a 1/4 cup of butter milk. The batter tasted great but the cake tasted like there was mayo in it or something. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Tasted pretty good. I think I over-beat my batter though, as the finished product fell apart when we cut it. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States