Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Good, but not great. I added 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. ground ginger and used 1/4 cup canola oil, 1 cup applesauce. I didn't chop the bananas - just put them in chunks in the Kitchen Aid. Iced with almond icing (about 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon room temp. butter, 1 teaspoon each vanilla and almond extracts whisked with about 2-3 tablespoon water , drizzled over cake. The almond went well the banana flavor.) This recipe still needs something- like finely chopped candied ginger, and maybe more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great cake! I used walnuts instead of pecans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Absolutely comfort food. I used 3/4 cup veg. oil, 1/2 cup buttermilk for all that oil. This turned out moist and flavorful. I only used 1 chopped banana and added 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut, only because we are coconut lovers. Only thing I may do next time is increase the cinnamon in the recipe. Maybe 1 1/2 tsp? I frosted this with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
When my bananas start to go bad I use them to make this cake. This cake taste more like banana bread It's quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This cake was tasty but weird. I got a lot of compliments on it but I don't know if I'd make it again. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and cut down on the oil and banana. Instead of using canned crushed pineapple, I sliced up a whole one and mashed it with a potato masher. The cake was cooked through but didn't hold together well when flipped out of the pan, and the texture, with all those bits of pineapple and banana, was strange and juicy. Very unexpected for a cake. All the pineapple and banana also made the cake very sweet on its own, so it didn't need any icing. It was also very heavy and very filling, perfect for a potluck dinner event with a lot of guests and small slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Adding COCONUT (did not measure) enhanced flavors of this recipe & seemed to make more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
While the name is not very descriptive of this cake it is wonderful. It's firm like a sweet bread and was quite a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Winland Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This cake was pretty good, it has a very unique flavor. I took the advice of others and used 1/4 canola oil and 1 cup applesauce, I think 1 1/4 cup oil sounds like a lot. It was fairly simple to make and I topped it off with Cream Cheese frosting. This cake is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I had this recipe for years and I could not find it the other day! I am so thankful that I found it! It is a very simple cake and sooo delicious!! Thank you for posting it!! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Good but in the future, I will add more pineapple. I, too cut the oil by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States