Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
A great recipes....made even better with a few modifications to suit my taste. I reduced the vegetable oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup buttermilk. I also added about 3/4 cup coconut. Instead of dicing the bananas, I mashed them. I used two 8" round cake pans greased, floured, and the bottoms lined with parchment paper - I baked at 350F for approx 35-40 min. After the cakes cooled I assembled the layer cake, frosting the layers with cream cheese frosting and garnishing the side of the cake with more shredded coconut. Thanks Carol for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I had been wanting to make this cake for a while, so I was happy to find the recipe. I read the reviews first and noticed a lot of others thought reducing the oil was a good idea. I wanted to use apple sauce instead of oil anyway, so I thought I would use 1 to 1 1/4 cups apple sauce in place of the oil. I however, only had 3/4 cup apple sauce so I used it and also added 1/4 cup oil. I used 3 9" pans instead of the bundt pan as well, then frosted it with cream cheese frosting and pressed additional nuts into the frosting. The cake turned out wonderful, got a lot of compliments. But next time I will use 1 1/4 cups apple sauce and no oil. This will cut down on the fat and makes for a very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
A very heavy and dense cake but the taste was quite good. As others suggested I reduced the amount of oil to 1/4 cup and added a cup of apple sauce. As well, I greased and then dusted my bundt pan with cinnamon sugar. This gave the cake a nice sweet surface so no icing was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe.....I did cut the oil down to 3/4 cup as per another review. I also added a cinnamon/nut topping. I used 1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cinnamon mixed together and sprinkled it evenly in the bottom of the pan before I poured the batter in. After it cooled I drizzled the cake with a lemon glaze. Co-workers and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Cake was good. I would also recommend reducing the oil, like the other reviews mentioned. The oil seeped through my cardboard cake round. Next time I make it, in addition to less oil, I will try one banana instead of two, more pineapple, and possibly some coconut or coconut flour, and add some nutmeg and allspice. It is definately still good as is, but it tastes like a lighter banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I chose this recipe over the others listed b/c it called for the pineapple juice..I thought this would make it very moist. I was right...this was THE BEST! I also used the cream cheese frosting from the other recipe listed. My neighbor raved & asked for a copy of the recipe. Thanks for a great & easy cake to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I love this recipe, it is quick, easy and taste wonderful also! This is one that you will want to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Sorry, there is just tooooo much "Hoopla" going on about this cake. I found it totally un-eventfull. It was easily passed over at christmas, many times I might add. Definitly no ooohs and ahhhs. It was ok, but thats simply it........OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearli7
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and only used half the amount of bananas suggested based on reviews of others that indicated that too much made it taste like banana bread. Also added crushed pineapples to the icing mix for more pineapple taste as well as to keep the icing from being so thin. I had to stop playing hostess to get my husband and myself a piece as it went that quickly. Everyone (reviewers) that thinks it is sweet enough without the icing is certainly missing out on a treat. I made both versions but ended up throwing away half of the the "icing free" version (glad I only made a small heart shaped one). Also followed suggestion to make a topping fo ricing out of cinnamon, brown sugar and pecans. That was superb. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearli7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this cake for dessert for a dinner party we went to. It was the hit of the party! It's not hard to make, it rises beautifully, and it tastes wonderful! I will definitely make it agai;n! Thankyou Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States