Hummingbird Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Having only eaten Hummingbird cake once I was eager to try to make it myself. I made a few minor adjusments as well. I used only 1 cup of canola/veg blend oil, 2tsp. Of Madagascar vanilla, cinnamon, a little nutmeg, and allspice. I could only find 15.5 oz. cans of crushed pineapple. I used 3/4 of the can. I mashed 4 very ripe bananas. I used a Kitchen Aid mixer on the lowest speed blending the eggs first, adding the wet ingredients before the dry. I made cupcakes. The batter yielded about 26 cupcakes. They cake was very moist. I would cut back the oil a little more the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
It was a very tasty cake. I wish the pineapple flavor came out a little bit more, but everyone gobbled it up. I added a cream cheese glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This cake was a huge hit! Like others, instead of 1 1/4 cups of oil I used 1 cup of apple sauce and 1/4 cup of oil. An amazingly moist cake. Lots of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very tasty, nice rounded top and tender crumb. A bit too sweet and too oily. Next time I will cut the sugar in half (only 1 cup) and cut the oil way down (maybe sub in some applesauce). I made cupcakes, 30 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I loved this cake!! so moist - I also changed a few things such as adding a lil all spice and used walnuts instead of pecans. I did a nutella frosting just to add some chocolate to it.. ha ha -My kids said it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is a really good recipe, but I have made a few ajustments for the sweet-tooth that I have. 1. I used Cake Flour instead of all purpose flour 2. I used 1cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar 3. 1 tbsp+ cinnamon 4. 6 medium sized bananas, smashed 5. walnuts instead of pecans...better flavor 6. 1 tbsp vanilla extract When I tasted the batter it brought back childhood memories of when my mother made this cake.....MMmm good Enjoy Enjoy enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was delicious. I made it healthy for hubby and used whole wheat flour, applesauce for the oil and splenda for the sugar. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Alban Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearli7
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and only used half the amount of bananas suggested based on reviews of others that indicated that too much made it taste like banana bread. Also added crushed pineapples to the icing mix for more pineapple taste as well as to keep the icing from being so thin. I had to stop playing hostess to get my husband and myself a piece as it went that quickly. Everyone (reviewers) that thinks it is sweet enough without the icing is certainly missing out on a treat. I made both versions but ended up throwing away half of the the "icing free" version (glad I only made a small heart shaped one). Also followed suggestion to make a topping fo ricing out of cinnamon, brown sugar and pecans. That was superb. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearli7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of hummingbird cake, but my mother is, so I made this for her birthday cake. She liked it, but said she's had better. She couldn't detect the pineapple at all, and I wasn't crazy about the texture - a very coarse crumb, moist but kind of tough and spongy. I was surprised that, with all that sugar and sweet fruit, the cake was more like a not-so-sweet batter bread than a cake. As written, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This cake was amazing. I will definately be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States