Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is really tasty! I was only cooking for 2 so I cut the recipe back. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts so I changed the cooking method because I was afraid they would dry out. I marinated for 8 hours and then dumped the marinade and chicken into a skillet heated on medium high. I cooked 5 minutes on each side until chicken was done. Next time I will not cut the marinade back because it makes a great "gravy" for the white rice served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a Recipe Group’s selection for April 6, 2013. I used chicken thighs and marinated it all day, but wish I had marinated overnight as it added fabulous flavor. I didn’t have any green onions so I substituted with a shallot. I baked the thighs with the sauce in the oven for thirty minutes before putting it on the grill. I then continued to cook down the sauce, strained it, and drizzled it over the rice. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Wonderful! Scaled the recipe back and used chicken breasts. I poured 1/2 the marinade into the bag w/ the chicken and saved the other 1/2 to reduce down to pour over top...YUM! This came out so moist and tender...this is a keeper, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
"This is excellent", said George. I thought so too. I used this marinade on country style pork ribs instead of chicken. I did not have sherry on hand so omitted that ingredient. After leaving the pork in the marinade for 6 hours, I covered with foil and cooked them in the toaster oven at 250 degrees for 90 mintues. We finished them up on the outdoor grill and cooked the pork for an additional 20 minutes. I will definately make this again with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group on the Buzz for April 6, 2013. I used three chickens quarter and marinated it overnight. I used half of the marinade for the chickens and half reduced it on the stove for sauce. I did not use the sherry but added a little bit of hot sauce. I used 5 cloves of garlic. I also reduced the soy sauce. I served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. I like this recipe and definitely will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My family loved this. I used frozen chicken breast and put all ingredients in a crock pot on high for about 6 hours. Then removed drippings and reduced it on the stove with cornstarch to make a thick sauce. Served over brown rice, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe was recommend by the Recipe Group on the Buzz - I am sooo glad I made it. I made the full amount of sauce (used the suggested Mirin instead of sherry) - but only 2 thighs and 3 small boneless skinless breasts. I used about a 1/3 of the marinade for the chicken - the rest I heated on the stovetop and reduced a bit - used some of that to paint the chicken with while cooking. I did do these on the grill instead of the broiler of the oven. Served with coleslaw, rice and steamed broccoli. The extra sauce was perfect drizzled over the rice and broccoli. Hubby said - "10 stars - next time double the garlic and I would give it 20 stars!" He dislikes broccoli but even ate the steamed broccoli with this sauce. Keeper! Thanks so much for a great recipe, Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed it! I used 2 large bone-in chicken breasts and halved the marinade. I left them in the fridge over night. While the oven preheated, I boiled the marinade, reduced the temp and let it simmer to thicken to use as a baste. I will definitely make this again and grill it next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I sub turkey for the chicken and allowed to marinate for 12+ hours. I baked at 375 for 1 hour and turned part way through cooking. Full of flavour. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Easy and tasty. My picky boyfriend had nothing but good things to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States