Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I left out the brown sugar and am giving it 5 stars. It would have been far too sweet otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my guests! I prefer to prepare on the grill verses cooking in the oven, especially in the summer. When grilling, I continue to baste and turn the chicken almost every 4 minutes so the meat stays really moist. This recipe is quick and easy to prepare and is always a big hit. The fresh ginger and garlic really add to the flavor. As an alternative recipe, I've also sliced the chicken after preparation and put into toasted tortilla shells with melted sharp cheddar, fresh cilantro, avocado and pico de gallo. This is a great way to serve as a finger food and works perfect for tailgating parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
AMAZING. I grilled both chicken bone-in and boneless thighs - so tender and sweet. I saved some marinade to baste while grilling. A great summer recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used blsl chicken breasts. When baked as indicated, they did not turn golden brown. Half way through, I decided to turn on the broiler to see if I could get a more appealing color. As marinades go, this is basically a sweet teriyaki sauce. I know the “huli, huli” is what makes this recipe a special Hawaiian dish, but there are other baked teriyaki chicken recipes out there that do not require the constant turning and taste just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
An easy marinade made with ingredients I typically keep on hand. Received rave reviews at a BBQ where we grilled the chicken. I used boneless skinless chicken breast cutlets and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Easy and tasty. My picky boyfriend had nothing but good things to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
"This is excellent", said George. I thought so too. I used this marinade on country style pork ribs instead of chicken. I did not have sherry on hand so omitted that ingredient. After leaving the pork in the marinade for 6 hours, I covered with foil and cooked them in the toaster oven at 250 degrees for 90 mintues. We finished them up on the outdoor grill and cooked the pork for an additional 20 minutes. I will definately make this again with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Pretty good... gets browned in oven pretty quickly. Basted as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My family loved this. I used frozen chicken breast and put all ingredients in a crock pot on high for about 6 hours. Then removed drippings and reduced it on the stove with cornstarch to make a thick sauce. Served over brown rice, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed it! I used 2 large bone-in chicken breasts and halved the marinade. I left them in the fridge over night. While the oven preheated, I boiled the marinade, reduced the temp and let it simmer to thicken to use as a baste. I will definitely make this again and grill it next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States