Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe was recommend by the Recipe Group on the Buzz - I am sooo glad I made it. I made the full amount of sauce (used the suggested Mirin instead of sherry) - but only 2 thighs and 3 small boneless skinless breasts. I used about a 1/3 of the marinade for the chicken - the rest I heated on the stovetop and reduced a bit - used some of that to paint the chicken with while cooking. I did do these on the grill instead of the broiler of the oven. Served with coleslaw, rice and steamed broccoli. The extra sauce was perfect drizzled over the rice and broccoli. Hubby said - "10 stars - next time double the garlic and I would give it 20 stars!" He dislikes broccoli but even ate the steamed broccoli with this sauce. Keeper! Thanks so much for a great recipe, Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this with *Recipe Group* 4-10-13. We liked it a lot. Using 2 bone-in breasts marinated for two overnights made for super juicy chicken. Only used 1/3 of the marinade in the plastic bag reserving the rest. I baked the breasts uncovered in a 375 degree oven for 35 minutes then grilled it to crisp up the skin. I strained the baking pan drippings into a saucepan and made a rue for thickening up the reserved marinade. Served it up with rice pilaf and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I used boneless skinless breasts for this, and some white wine (I buy the little bottles). Researching Huli Huli a little, it is supposed to be grilled not baked. However, I will say that high temp oven cooking (if there had been skin on these)would have crisped the skin, as the outside of the breasts did become a little hardened. Not bad hard, just not soft like a normal baked chicken. The marinade basting didn't seem to have any effect until I thickened it with some cornstarch, then basted. That did the trick, stayed on nicely and gave a nice finish on them. While I found the soy a little overpowering for me, the guys enjoyed them immensely and the sauce I held out and thickened for gravy went over fine on the mashed potatoes I made to go with it. I would like to try this again on the grill when it gets to come out from the winter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a Recipe Group’s selection for April 6, 2013. I used chicken thighs and marinated it all day, but wish I had marinated overnight as it added fabulous flavor. I didn’t have any green onions so I substituted with a shallot. I baked the thighs with the sauce in the oven for thirty minutes before putting it on the grill. I then continued to cook down the sauce, strained it, and drizzled it over the rice. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
AMAZING. I grilled both chicken bone-in and boneless thighs - so tender and sweet. I saved some marinade to baste while grilling. A great summer recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is really tasty! I was only cooking for 2 so I cut the recipe back. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts so I changed the cooking method because I was afraid they would dry out. I marinated for 8 hours and then dumped the marinade and chicken into a skillet heated on medium high. I cooked 5 minutes on each side until chicken was done. Next time I will not cut the marinade back because it makes a great "gravy" for the white rice served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my guests! I prefer to prepare on the grill verses cooking in the oven, especially in the summer. When grilling, I continue to baste and turn the chicken almost every 4 minutes so the meat stays really moist. This recipe is quick and easy to prepare and is always a big hit. The fresh ginger and garlic really add to the flavor. As an alternative recipe, I've also sliced the chicken after preparation and put into toasted tortilla shells with melted sharp cheddar, fresh cilantro, avocado and pico de gallo. This is a great way to serve as a finger food and works perfect for tailgating parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
For Recipe Group 4/8/13 - This chicken was very, very tasty. I usually only do the least amount of marinade time possible but I'm glad I went with doing it overnight. Totally worth the wait. I made some minor changes but nothing too out there. First of all, I adjusted the recipe for 6 servings but only used 6 chicken breasts. I didn't have sherry, so I used extra pineapple juice instead. When it came to cook time, I preheated the oven at 425* F, but instead of putting it in the broiler right away, I put it in the oven. Let it cook 10 minutes, flipped it, basted it with the marinade and let it cook another 10 minutes. During that 10 minutes, I thicken the rest of the marinade with 1 tbsp of cornstarch on the stove-top. Then I flipped the chicken, basted it with the thickened sauce, moved the pan to the broiler and cooked for another 10 minutes. Finally, I flipped it again, basted it and broiled for another 5 minutes to get nice char on top. Once out, I basted it a final time and let it rest for about 5 minutes and then sliced. My family absolutely loved it. Usually, they hate when I make back to back chicken recipes but there wasn't one grumble or complaint. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I sub turkey for the chicken and allowed to marinate for 12+ hours. I baked at 375 for 1 hour and turned part way through cooking. Full of flavour. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 06, April 2013 ~ We had 2 selections this week, this being one of them. This was a good recipe to use bone-in chicken. I used part of the marinade for the chicken, and cooked down the rest to use on the rice and chicken when serving. We had a nice day and decided to grill rather than bake. It got brown on the grill, looking at the picture you would think it was burnt, but it wasn’t in the least. The chicken had lots of flavor and it paired nicely with sticky rice and ‘Cabbage on the Grill’ another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States