Huli Huli Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I used this recipe with chicken breast instead of whole chicken (only because it's what I had - I'm sure this is super delicious with bone-in!). I didn't use sherry wine nor the substitute (I didn't have anything close), used spicy mustard instead of dry mustard, and ginger paste instead of fresh ginger. Aside from all those substitutions, the chicken came out pretty good! It wasn't glazed but that was probably because there was no skin. I put the rest of the marinade in a small sauce pan and cooked it over low heat as a sauce/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe was recommend by the Recipe Group on the Buzz - I am sooo glad I made it. I made the full amount of sauce (used the suggested Mirin instead of sherry) - but only 2 thighs and 3 small boneless skinless breasts. I used about a 1/3 of the marinade for the chicken - the rest I heated on the stovetop and reduced a bit - used some of that to paint the chicken with while cooking. I did do these on the grill instead of the broiler of the oven. Served with coleslaw, rice and steamed broccoli. The extra sauce was perfect drizzled over the rice and broccoli. Hubby said - "10 stars - next time double the garlic and I would give it 20 stars!" He dislikes broccoli but even ate the steamed broccoli with this sauce. Keeper! Thanks so much for a great recipe, Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is really tasty! I was only cooking for 2 so I cut the recipe back. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts so I changed the cooking method because I was afraid they would dry out. I marinated for 8 hours and then dumped the marinade and chicken into a skillet heated on medium high. I cooked 5 minutes on each side until chicken was done. Next time I will not cut the marinade back because it makes a great "gravy" for the white rice served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a Recipe Group’s selection for April 6, 2013. I used chicken thighs and marinated it all day, but wish I had marinated overnight as it added fabulous flavor. I didn’t have any green onions so I substituted with a shallot. I baked the thighs with the sauce in the oven for thirty minutes before putting it on the grill. I then continued to cook down the sauce, strained it, and drizzled it over the rice. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Wonderful! Scaled the recipe back and used chicken breasts. I poured 1/2 the marinade into the bag w/ the chicken and saved the other 1/2 to reduce down to pour over top...YUM! This came out so moist and tender...this is a keeper, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I did this as indicated other than using all drumsticks (because doing whole bird parts on the broiler always results in overdone drums/wings by the time the breasts and thighs are done, in my oven). With that said, the sauce never stuck to my chicken, so for the final basting I thickened the sauce on the stovetop with cornstarch and then it stuck beautifully. The sauce/marinade is delicious on the chicken, on the rice, and on the steamed broccoli I made. But we did not like the way the skin stayed kind of rubbery and the way that the sauce was not sticking at all. In the future I would do this in a pan with BLSL chicken breasts submerged in the pre-thickened sauce or else on the grill basted with the pre-thickened sauce (with or without skin on the grill, as is your preference). As the skin texture issue is just a thing with us I didn't hold that against the recipe but this marinade really does need to be thickened before use as a basting sauce or over rice. Thickening is such an easy step especially since you've got to boil that leftover marinade nonstop in order to use it without re-contaminating it anyway. P.S. I used mirin and it was awesome, sherry does not hold a candle to it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I used boneless skinless breasts for this, and some white wine (I buy the little bottles). Researching Huli Huli a little, it is supposed to be grilled not baked. However, I will say that high temp oven cooking (if there had been skin on these)would have crisped the skin, as the outside of the breasts did become a little hardened. Not bad hard, just not soft like a normal baked chicken. The marinade basting didn't seem to have any effect until I thickened it with some cornstarch, then basted. That did the trick, stayed on nicely and gave a nice finish on them. While I found the soy a little overpowering for me, the guys enjoyed them immensely and the sauce I held out and thickened for gravy went over fine on the mashed potatoes I made to go with it. I would like to try this again on the grill when it gets to come out from the winter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group on the Buzz for April 6, 2013. I used three chickens quarter and marinated it overnight. I used half of the marinade for the chickens and half reduced it on the stove for sauce. I did not use the sherry but added a little bit of hot sauce. I used 5 cloves of garlic. I also reduced the soy sauce. I served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. I like this recipe and definitely will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this with *Recipe Group* 4-10-13. We liked it a lot. Using 2 bone-in breasts marinated for two overnights made for super juicy chicken. Only used 1/3 of the marinade in the plastic bag reserving the rest. I baked the breasts uncovered in a 375 degree oven for 35 minutes then grilled it to crisp up the skin. I strained the baking pan drippings into a saucepan and made a rue for thickening up the reserved marinade. Served it up with rice pilaf and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I sub turkey for the chicken and allowed to marinate for 12+ hours. I baked at 375 for 1 hour and turned part way through cooking. Full of flavour. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States