Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was a waste of a lot of seasoning for little flavor. Will not be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I halved this recipe because I didn't have quite enough of some of the ingredients to make the entire thing. Makes a lot even at half. We used some of this as a dry rub on chicken leg quarters that we baked first then bbq'ed with sauce for 10 minutes after baking. Produces a very juicy, tender bbq'ed chicken. We are using Hugh's Dry Rub on a rotisserie chicken tonight - we are making the neigbors jealous as we speak...Great dry rub for probably any kind of meat - probably even fish! In fact, sprinkle it lightly on some hot french fries or on top of some mashed potatoes or potato or macaroni salad in place of just paprika. This rub is good in everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I have been looking for a dry rub and I am so glad I found this one. So Good and spicy!!! It makes a ton so I cut the recipe in half and still have plenty for future use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
We used this on grilled chicken legs/thighs. My husband gives it 5 stars. I thought it was bland and needed a lot of Bulls-eye on top to enjoy it. I guess it depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Perfect on chicken and talapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I made this for some friends and they use it on everything! ( Even more than I do!) I think it is going to be a tradition for me to refill their jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
A great all purpose rub. I've used it on pork, chicken, and steak. I usually make the big batch so that I have it on hand whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KocinaCocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was awesome on our steaks. Especially on the ones were seasoned and then frozen for a later date. By the time those steaks thawed and were cooked they were mouth watering. This dry rub recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, but could've cut into 1/4 because it makes a lot of seasoning. I even reduced the paprika further since it's mainly for color, and cut the cayenne since we have kids. This was still too spicy for the kids, but tastes great. I'm looking forward to using this as a base for adding more seasonings for different types of rubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I'm a big fan of this rub - I've used it on broiled steaks 3 times and every time it's turned out wonderful - just spicy enough so that when you take a bite its perfectly seasoned. It's also a good "basic" rub from which you can branch out and experiment with different ingredients; I've added both brown sugar and dried, chopped chipotle chilis to the rub and both worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States