Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this for my family on vacation and they loved it!. I placed 4 washed and paper towel patted dry chicken breasts in a gallon zip lock bag. I then mixed 4 tsps of the mix in a bowl with some EVOO. I dumped the wet mix into the zip lock bag and let it marinate for a few hours. The key was the grilling. I preheated my Weber natural gas grill to max heat. I seared each side of the breasts for 2 minutes. I then turned off the middle burner and turned the outside burners to medium. This indirectly cooked the chicken for another 15 minutes or so. The chicken was so tender and moist, my family couldn't believe it. The recipe is a bit spicy. Cut back on the Cayenne of you want a little less kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Y-U-M! The first time I used it I just quickly put it on some pork chops to grill. They were the best pork chops I have ever had. I use this on more than just meat like veggies and I even put it on macaroni n cheese- best macaroni I have ever had. I had to put my input on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
One of the best rubs I've tried.This is the second batch I've made. I did cut back on the cynanne pepper.some don't like it to hot always can add but you can't take it off.. Keeps well in a airtight jar. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this rub for pork chops, and actually used it for grilled chicken as well. I found that it coats best when mixed with olive oil (about 1:1). My boyfriend really like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was a waste of a lot of seasoning for little flavor. Will not be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I halved this recipe because I didn't have quite enough of some of the ingredients to make the entire thing. Makes a lot even at half. We used some of this as a dry rub on chicken leg quarters that we baked first then bbq'ed with sauce for 10 minutes after baking. Produces a very juicy, tender bbq'ed chicken. We are using Hugh's Dry Rub on a rotisserie chicken tonight - we are making the neigbors jealous as we speak...Great dry rub for probably any kind of meat - probably even fish! In fact, sprinkle it lightly on some hot french fries or on top of some mashed potatoes or potato or macaroni salad in place of just paprika. This rub is good in everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I have been looking for a dry rub and I am so glad I found this one. So Good and spicy!!! It makes a ton so I cut the recipe in half and still have plenty for future use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
We used this on grilled chicken legs/thighs. My husband gives it 5 stars. I thought it was bland and needed a lot of Bulls-eye on top to enjoy it. I guess it depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Perfect on chicken and talapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I made this for some friends and they use it on everything! ( Even more than I do!) I think it is going to be a tradition for me to refill their jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States