Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good dry rub. It made tons and I have used it on many meats and in some soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I thought the rub was very good. I cut it in half and have plenty left over for the next time. Great bold flavor. I used it generously and let it sit on the chicken for about an hour, I am sure the longer the better as far as thats concerned. The next time i am going to lower the amount of cayenne by half. I want the other flavors to come through and it seemed like the cayenne was dominanting my mouth. Salt content was fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
love it. restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schussler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i seldom rate recipes but just had to give this a 5 star. made no changes and love it on steaks and chicken. soo good and easy to put togeather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This rub is so very good. I've used it several times and it has a lot of excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Did not have any cayenne nor any dry onion powder. I did add some dry onion flakes and kept everything else the same. Great recipe and will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I tried this rub on some chicken. I added a bit more cayenne for some heat as well as 3 tbsp chili powder and 3 tbsp sage. I then grilled the chicken and it had great flavor, but it was very, very salty. I ended up having to make my guests wait an extra 10 minutes while i prepared a salad with avocado, pine nuts, and my personal vinaigrette to toss with the chicken to kill the salty flavor. My recommendation would be to use 3 tbsp or 4 tbsp of salt instead of the recommended 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Best BBQ chicken I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was AWESOME!!! We put it on chicken legs and theighs for the 4th of July and didn't have any left. I did however leave out the cayenne pepper to make it more kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this rub and used it with some NY steaks. It was very good. The only thing I would modify is the amount of cayenne. I would half the cayenne so that I could taste the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States