Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is my favorite hand made rub. I especially love it on pork, but I have grilled chicken with it and also use it a lot on grilled steaks. I tweak it a bit, but it is my standard rub that I almost always have on hand. I am supposed to limit my salt intake, so I make it without the salt and I also cut back on the Cayenne because I don't tolerate much heat. Other than that, I leave it as it is. It is a great thing to mix up and put in mason jars for gifts, too. Oh, and to make the best ribs, cook them in foil in the oven with this rub on. Low and slow. When getting done, but not falling apart, pull them out of the oven and throw them on the grill and baste with your favorite bbq sauce (we like Sweet Baby Ray's original flavor). Cook the ribs on the grill just long enough to get some caramelization from the sauce and you are done. I promise they will be AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
By far my favorite way to season steak.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is an all time favourite to keep in my kitchen. I make it in a tuperware container to keep it handy. I use it on chicken and pork. Umm, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe! The only things I changed were lowering the amount of cayenne because my boyfriend can't handle spicy stuff, and I didn't feel comfortable using that much salt so I reduced that too. Other than those 2 modifications I followed it exactly, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I use it on all types of meat, beef, chicken, pork, and fish. All of it tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was the first and only rub I've ever tried and it turned out wonderfully! The balance between spicy and savory is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Really great! Tried it on some pork chops and my wife and I both loved it. A word to those who don't like too much kick, cut the cayenne in half; you'll still get the flavour without the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Best steak seasoning I've uses so far. Although I would recommend to cut down on salt if you're not too keen on anything overly salted. I also mixed mine with olive oil so its easier to rub on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We. Love. This. Rub! I did have to tweak it a little...we don't care for spicy-hot food. I only added 1 tbls of cayenne and 2 tbls of black pepper. I also added 1/4 Cup of brown sugar (this replaces the missing cayenne/pepper). It adds just a bit of sweetness, but for us, it's PERFECT! Thanks Hugh, who ever you are! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rechcygl4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by jackie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Tried this rub last night on some rib eye & it was delicious! a must try rub! I'm using it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States