Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This rub is outstanding Hugh! I use it on a pork butt to make Carnitas and Tamales. I've never had anything as good. Thank you from the bottom of my STOMACH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This was really good! I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the Cayenne in half - but next time I'll use the full amount, I like some spice. I used it on ribs that I left in the fridge overnight with the rub, then put them in the slow-cooker the next morning with some sauce. Eight hours later, you could pull the bones clean out of the meat! I also added a bit of the rub to the baked beans I made to go with the ribs. It gave them a nice flavor that complimented the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was especially good on a whole chicken that I put in my countertop roaster! My husband asked me to keep a batch on hand at all times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was a great recipe for my Thanksgiving tukey. I butter injected a turkey and then but this rub under the skin. It came out wonderful. My husband hates Cajun foods but actually thought that this was really good. No deep fryer so we had to roast our turkey but it came out great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Great Rub. I used it on a Whole Turkey and it was very good. Based on reading other reviews, I cut the cayenne pepper in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The longer this one sits to let all the spices "meld", the better it is. I wouldn't just fix and use it. It needs time to sit. I'd recommend a day before using it. But it is pretty good. I have used it on burgers, ribs and steaks. Very nice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
very good, nice spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is very flavorful. I cut down on the salt, and it was still good. I brushed a little olive oil on the steaks, then sprinkled with some lime juice, then added the spice rub and some chopped parsley. Marinated then put under the broiler. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I didn't have any cayenne pepper on hand so I used chili powder and some red pepper flakes, nice and spicy. I also use this one sliced potatoes. Slice up the potatoes, put them in a casserole dish with a 1/2 a stick of butter and 5-6 tb spoons of this rub and it's unbelieveable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This is a wonderful rub and it goes great with the Baby Back Ribs recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States