Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made this tonight as the directions stated. I put it on two Costco whole chickens, and smoked/grilled them on my kamado grill. I ended up letting the heat get too high, and kind of burned the outside, but they were still amazing. I'm a huge griller (I have 7 grills, if that gives you any indication), and have tried many rubs. If you like a little heat, this one is a real winner. I'm thrilled with it! Thanks, Hugh-ever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have tried this on hamburgers and I didn't like it. It had a funny flavor which was the oregano. My own blend was much better but I am always looking for that killer combo blend, so I wanted to give this one a try. It seems a lot of people like this rub but I didn't care for it. It's back to the kitchen lab for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Really good. My favorite. The oregano and thyme add an interesting flavor. I make this without the salt because I often brine soak the meat first and I can use as much as I want without over salting. I can always sprinkle a bit of salt on anything that needs it. I keep a shaker of this on the shelf so it's always handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
excellent. So quick and so good ! Used it for an work day dinner party so it had to be quick. It has a kick to it and I didn't need to use as much as i did. My 80-somehting father didn't care for it because is's spicy, but everyone else did, even my 7 and 9 year old loved it and request it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I am totally sold on this rub. The only 'tweak' I make is the addition of brown sugar, everything else is kept to the original recipe. I have only used it on chicken and pork...so far. Many thanks Hugh for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I love this on chicken thighs! I crave it! So good. A bit spicy if you don't like spice. BUT IT IS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
very good. of course I changed it a bit. less pepper, less salt, some cumin, a bit of basal. but a very good rub. we had it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was good but next time I'm cutting back on the black pepper n canine pepper. Way too spicy hot. I put the rub on a nice rack of ribs let it sit for 24 hrs then cooked it up, && let me tell you should change the name to "KICKASS DRY RUB"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is a favorite in my home! My fiancé loves this dry rub and we use it every time we make steaks on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love this rub on chicken! So yummy!!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States