Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used 4 Tbsp sea salt instead of 6 Tbsp because I was cooking for someone on a low sodium diet. I used this rub on 2 whole chickens and let them marinate overnight in the refrigerator. I roasted the next day and the chicken was so flavorful and not too salty. I did not use cayenne because I didn't know if the person could handle the heat. I used chili powder instead. I also sprinkled this rub on salmon last night and it was so delicious. I will likely add cayenne to my remaining mixture, but the 4 Tbsp of sea salt is perfect. This one is definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I have to 5 star this! Everyone loves this rub. I make a big container of it and use it on pork and chicken. I didn't exactly follow the amount of each ingredient and I left out cayenne pepper...only because I didn't have any. This stuff is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nefritara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I love it. I put it on everything. Has replaced the old standby, Lawry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have been using this rub for a few months now, and we love it! This rub helps me make the best bbq chicken me and my family have ever had. Thanks sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Best dry rub ever, super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lafinbby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I cut the salt in half as well as the cayenne pepper and black pepper just to cut back on the heat. This goes well with chicken and pork, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACPHISTO1993

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I used this on outside round steaks and it turned out great, I love the kick it gives the meat. I took the advice of others and cut the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Was looking for a rub that doesn't have sugar in it. This rub was so good on my baby back ribs. Slow cooked on the smoker. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Used on chicken and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good dry rub. It made tons and I have used it on many meats and in some soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States