Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
very good, nice spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is very flavorful. I cut down on the salt, and it was still good. I brushed a little olive oil on the steaks, then sprinkled with some lime juice, then added the spice rub and some chopped parsley. Marinated then put under the broiler. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! I didn't have any cayenne pepper on hand so I used chili powder and some red pepper flakes, nice and spicy. I also use this one sliced potatoes. Slice up the potatoes, put them in a casserole dish with a 1/2 a stick of butter and 5-6 tb spoons of this rub and it's unbelieveable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This is a wonderful rub and it goes great with the Baby Back Ribs recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Flavor with a kick! My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I covered a brisket and 2 slabs of pork ribs with this magnificent rub and wrapped them tight in foil to sit overnight in the fridge.I cooked the brisket for 7 hours in the oven at 225f and the ribs at the same for about 3 hours both still in the foil.Fired up the grill with mesquite and smoked both over low heat for another 3 hours and this was by far the best tasting and most moist brisket that I had ever cooked or had the pleasure of eating.The ribs were awesome too.It was a completely different taste on each kind of meat.Hugh, you get an A+ on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I sprinkled about 1T on each boneless skinless chicken breast (they were pretty big), and let them sit in the fridge for a little over an hour before grilling. VERY spicy. Next time I'll cut down on the cayenne or black pepper. I think this is best for larger pieces of meat (not flattened chicken breasts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
tried it on some sirloin steak and chicken breast. i guess i didn't put enough on as it didn't taste like much (a coating on both sides, plus added some oil onto it as well and refrigerated overnight), though the bites that had more of the rub on it was good, but it tastes like it needs some salt or something. i also didn't add as much cayenne powder to it at all as it would have been a little too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This rub is outstanding!! I tried it on a whim one night when my roomate and I were grilling some steaks and I am SOOO glad that I did!! I scaled the recipe to 9, and it STILL made a ton. We used it on New York strip. I rubbed 1-2 tablespoons of the rub into each steak, then lightly coated them with about 1 tablespoon (each) of olive oil (the oil seems to make the steak ALOT jucier...which is my favorite part of a steak!) and let them sit in the fridge for about half an hour. We made them alongside Pan-Fried Asparagus (also on this site) and some Lipton noodles and it was one of the best dinners I have ever made!! I did cut down on the amount of Paprika (because I ran out) and Cayenne (used less than half of what was called for) and it was just perfect. Had a little kick to it, but not what I'd call spicy. This is SOOO good, you must try it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
We used this on tri-tip, and it was excellent. For our own personal tastes, we might reduce the cayenne a bit next time. I rubbed it on the meat and let it sit in the fridge for an hour or two, then grilled. The meat was really juicy and flavorful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States