Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Added a little brown sugar to give it a hint of sweetness. Put it on a tri-tip and sit for a day. By far the best tri tip i've ever had. This is now a regular rub in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Excellent with pork, chicken and steak, but too strong for fish. I love how easy it is to put together, and the portion here makes enough for two or three different dishes for my husband and me. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I've always looked for a rub to keep on hand in the cabinet and I finally found one!!! Fantastic!!! It's a hit here in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I liked this rub however I used it as a base. I added 1 tbls of brown sugar and a tsp of dry mustard. A little too much pepper for my taste I think I'll cut that back the next time I use this. I also added a little cajun spice. Used it on baby back ribs with a sauce to baste...turned out pretty good. My picky nine year old even liked it and that's impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Great flavor! Family thought it was a little to warm. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This rub is outstanding Hugh! I use it on a pork butt to make Carnitas and Tamales. I've never had anything as good. Thank you from the bottom of my STOMACH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This was really good! I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the Cayenne in half - but next time I'll use the full amount, I like some spice. I used it on ribs that I left in the fridge overnight with the rub, then put them in the slow-cooker the next morning with some sauce. Eight hours later, you could pull the bones clean out of the meat! I also added a bit of the rub to the baked beans I made to go with the ribs. It gave them a nice flavor that complimented the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was especially good on a whole chicken that I put in my countertop roaster! My husband asked me to keep a batch on hand at all times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was a great recipe for my Thanksgiving tukey. I butter injected a turkey and then but this rub under the skin. It came out wonderful. My husband hates Cajun foods but actually thought that this was really good. No deep fryer so we had to roast our turkey but it came out great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Great Rub. I used it on a Whole Turkey and it was very good. Based on reading other reviews, I cut the cayenne pepper in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States