Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Used this recipe to season chicken chunks for making kabobs. I knew we were having some spicy sauces for dipping so cut the "spicy" spices in half (paprika, cayenne and pepper) and also couldn't see the need for that much salt in something that had so many bold flavors so left salt out altogether. Followed the directions for brining the chicken suggested by a reviewer and marinated with the rub and olive oil overnight. Also added a cap full of liquid smoke to the marinade which gave it a nice but subtle smokey flavor. The family loved it and it was a fun new twist on chicken skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I thought this was really good. Theres no 'wow' factor but its a great basic rub that can be very versitile. I halved the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Awesome on baby back ribs! Can't wait to try on other meats. I baked the meat instead of grilling and it still turned out great. Thanks Hugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Works on all cuts of meat! Great Rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Hubby checks my spice rack regularly to make sure i have plenty of this rub on hand! He is picky about spices,but loves this stuff on chicken,steaks,ribs,you name it! "Delicate" tastebuds need not apply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
While this was a good rub I thought that the black pepper was overwhelming for chicken. I will use it for beef and cut the black pepper down for chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Wonderfull-Don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happylender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I tryed it on shrimp kabobs. They were delicous, but a little spicy for me. I will definetly make this again, but with a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Use this on a regular basis...its good. I realize from another reviewer that it does bear a small resemblance to Emeril's Essence recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
The BEST EVER!! Barbeque your ribs with the dry rub and it's DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States