Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Tried this on ribs and it gave them a lovely color and flavor. I can't wait to try it on something else. Thanks for an easy, sugar-free rub. ** We used this on a whole turkey that we roasted this weekend. OMG was it good! Can't wait to show it off on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I thought the flavor was very nice. But Way too salty! Next time I might skip the salt all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good rub. I have used it many times. You can increase the cayanne pepper to kick the heat up a bit. Easy rub recipe to adjust to your personal taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Awesome!! A perfect blend of flavours with a bit of a spicy kick but not overwhelming. Great with ribs rubbed with this spice blend, refrigeragted overnight and slow cooked, covered and standing on end (so juice runs off) in a 200 degree oven for 5-6 hours and then finished off on the Bar-B-Que grill with your favourite bar-b-que sauce. Perfect with Danish baby back ribs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great for deep fried turkey!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This rub was so overwhelming that my family could not enjoy the flavor of the meat. I even reduced the amounts of both peppers and added some brown sugar. We, normally, enjoy spicy food, but this was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
We used this rub with Tri-Tip...it was amazing it gave it a wonderful taste. We used olive oil to make the rub stick and it also helps keep the meat from drying out. We will be using this rub again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I like this Rub but I can't give it 5 stars because I thought it was too salty and too Hot. I like spicy and just based on the reviews by others I left out 2 Tbs. of black pepper. Maybe I should have left out one of the Cayenne as well. It was good and with more changes I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is great- stores well and I even catch my husband using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Used this recipe to season chicken chunks for making kabobs. I knew we were having some spicy sauces for dipping so cut the "spicy" spices in half (paprika, cayenne and pepper) and also couldn't see the need for that much salt in something that had so many bold flavors so left salt out altogether. Followed the directions for brining the chicken suggested by a reviewer and marinated with the rub and olive oil overnight. Also added a cap full of liquid smoke to the marinade which gave it a nice but subtle smokey flavor. The family loved it and it was a fun new twist on chicken skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States