Hugh's Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Super. I scaled it down for 5 servings, I didn't add the oregano [forgot], and put alittle less salt in. I'll be using this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I hate to give any recipe a bad review, but we just didn't care for this. We both felt it was way too salty and salt was the first flavor I tasted. I didn't think it was too spicy, and thought the spice level was ok. I did scale this down for 8 servings, so it is possible the measurements may have been slightly off, but I did follow the recipe as written. We both felt this tasted southwestern, which wasn't really what we were looking for. I may try this again in the future, but I would reduce the amount of salt by at least half, and perhaps add a very small amount of sugar or brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
a little goes a long way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This had a nice kick. Used it on rib-eye steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Love the taste !! Used it on a smoked turkey breast and everything turned out moist. I too cut back the salt and and added more garlic powder. Hope to use it on more meats and seafood. Thanks for sharing!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Delicious! Reduced salt by 2 tablespoons and replaced cayenne pepper with red pepper flakes because that is what I had on hand. Rubbed on chicken and grilled on the George Foreman grill for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Loved it, we don't eat salt so I skipped that & for the pepper I used a Worcestershire Pepper blend. It will be used in many recipes here, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
If I was standing next to Hugh I'd give him a great big hug! This rub is fantasic! The only change I made is instead of table salt I used Kosher coarse salt. It was not salty at all. I grilled some country ribs and it was delicious. Some I add BBQ sauce and some I left memphis style. This will be my rub of choice! Thanks Hugh for sharing your recipe rub. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
its very tasty when you use it with meat in almost any application, but..its very salty. i think the next time i make it i will either leave out the salt or reduce the amount to maybe 1 tablespoon. otherwize its very good, has a very nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States