Huckleberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Canarbaitz
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this recipe twice the first time it turned out great. The second time I made it I used half the ingredients and made a 9 inch pie pan but I read the reviews so I did add the extra flour and it turned out awesome! I would definitely recommend this recipe as long as you use the extra flour or some other sort of thickener. My friends and family are licking their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I do not know what I did wrong. My pie was more huckleberry juice. As I used frozen berries. Did i need to add more flour then? Other then that it was really good. Please let me know. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grillingirl
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Like some other reviewers instead of flour I found 1/4 cup of tapioca to work perfectly for thickening this pie, also instead of heavy cream I used milk and this pie came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I think it was soooooo good. Only problem was i farted and it wrecked the pie! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My family loves Huckleberry Pie! I struggled with the runny pie dilemma for years until I decided to prepare the filling in a saucepan first. Each year's batch of berries come on the bush with a varying degree of sweetness and juiciness. In order to make sure my pies set and taste just right, I prepare the filling on the stove to get the right consistency and flavor. I left out the lemon zest and cream because my family prefers the simple taste of the Huckleberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
By putting cream on the crust w/sugar, maple sugar & cinn. - made it pretty as a picture. I agree to use more flour or better yet, the tapioca (this recipe is runny). Overall, very good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was a very good recipe but I found it to be very runny. When I used 5 level TBS. of cornstarch it came out perfect! With this change, I give this recipe a 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellow_daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
One review was absolutely correct. Flour does not work as a thickener in this instance. The best way is tapioca ( 2 tbls ), berries, sugar, and lemon juice in a bowl mixed and let set for 10-15 min. before adding to pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This tasted great, the lemon adds a nice flavor, but using just the flour as a thickener left me with huckleberry soup and a mushy, pasty crust. I tried it again and used a quarter cup of 'quick tapioca' instead of a tablespoon of flour and the pie was nice and solid. I also found it was much better after it had cooled completely - much less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe to the tee, but used a metal pie dish. The pie ended up too runny, undercooked and it was not good enough to eat. I still have huckleberries left and will try to cook the berries first before filling the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States