Huckleberry-Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was excellent. The texture is just perfect-not too flakey, not too cakey, but just right. In proper All Recipes fashion, I did make a few changes based on availability of ingredients. I used blackberries instead of huckleberries because we don't have huckleberries in Arizona. I hand cut the berries in half so they wouldn't be too big for the scone. Other reviews also said that they could be kind of tart, so I used 4.5 TBS of sugar instead of 3 TBS because my berries weren't particularly sweet. I didn't have half and half, so I used whole milk. And I haven't decided if I'm going to glaze them or not-I think they're perfectly yummy even without the glaze. It really makes exactly 12 nice sized scones-more if you make minis. But these will fly off the plate, so you better start by doubling, rather than having to go back and make more like I am doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My 12 year old son was in the mood to make breakfast this morning. He decided to make these scones, and they were very good. The only reason I didn't rate it five stars is that the dough was really sticky and difficult to work with. They are not very sweet, I would prefer them to be a tiny bit sweeter, but they were really good. We will make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
It's the lemon that attracted me to this recipe but I had to sub in blueberries as no huckleberries are available--they were still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good! I doubled the lemon juice and used dried blueberries. They turned out light and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
YUM! The only change I made was using raspberries instead of the huckleberries. These are so light and not overly sweet. I make scones often and these are now on top of my list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I've been a baker of scones for almost 20 years and this recipe is absolutely a keeper. Those who worry about the "too wet" dough should add only the amount of liquid (eggs/cream/zest) that is needed to make the dough easy to handle. But if you pat it out on a floured surface, that shouldn't be a huge problem for most cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is a great spring or summer-time treat. I used blueberries instead of huckleberries. The only comment I have to make is that these were very tart/lemony - make sure to measure exactly or use a little bit less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These scones were very good. I followed the recipe all except for the huckleberries. I substituted it with dried mango. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am no scone connoisseur...but these were easy and DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T...with only one exception. I had no huckleberries, so used thawed (purchased frozen) blueberries. I served these at Easter brunch and EVERYONE (boys and girls from 5 to 85) loved them and several asked for the recipe. Even my father-in-law, who usually thinks scones are too dry, loved these. I'm already planning to make them again next weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States