Huckleberry-Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I didn't have huckleberries so I used a pear instead and they are just simply delicious!!! Yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These are the best huckleberry scones I've ever had! Granted they're the first but as we're overloaded with wild huckleberries at our house we're always looking for new recipes. I didn't have any fresh lemon or zest so I left the zest out and used my old standby Minute Maid frozen lemon juice concentrate and they turned out fine. I can see how the zest would add another citrus dimension and look forward to doing them exactly as the recipe states soon. My husband took one bite, rolled his eyes in happiness and stated, "Killer scones. We won't be giving these away."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great great recipe! I substituted heavy cream in place of half and half- made the dough a little harder to handle although, they came out great! I did learn one thing- you have to use fresh berries!!!! I made one batch with fresh- perfect! The second time (actually in the oven right now) I thawed some of my once fresh berries I froze, they fall apart when folding in- I'm sure they'll be great but maybe next time I'll keep them frozen. Add some huckleberry juice to make the frosting and you're golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am no scone connoisseur...but these were easy and DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T...with only one exception. I had no huckleberries, so used thawed (purchased frozen) blueberries. I served these at Easter brunch and EVERYONE (boys and girls from 5 to 85) loved them and several asked for the recipe. Even my father-in-law, who usually thinks scones are too dry, loved these. I'm already planning to make them again next weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I've been a baker of scones for almost 20 years and this recipe is absolutely a keeper. Those who worry about the "too wet" dough should add only the amount of liquid (eggs/cream/zest) that is needed to make the dough easy to handle. But if you pat it out on a floured surface, that shouldn't be a huge problem for most cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
YUM! The only change I made was using raspberries instead of the huckleberries. These are so light and not overly sweet. I make scones often and these are now on top of my list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good! I doubled the lemon juice and used dried blueberries. They turned out light and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was excellent. The texture is just perfect-not too flakey, not too cakey, but just right. In proper All Recipes fashion, I did make a few changes based on availability of ingredients. I used blackberries instead of huckleberries because we don't have huckleberries in Arizona. I hand cut the berries in half so they wouldn't be too big for the scone. Other reviews also said that they could be kind of tart, so I used 4.5 TBS of sugar instead of 3 TBS because my berries weren't particularly sweet. I didn't have half and half, so I used whole milk. And I haven't decided if I'm going to glaze them or not-I think they're perfectly yummy even without the glaze. It really makes exactly 12 nice sized scones-more if you make minis. But these will fly off the plate, so you better start by doubling, rather than having to go back and make more like I am doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Not the best berry scones I've had, but they aren't bad. The dough is a bit wet, and the berries on the bottom got burnt, but there are no major issues. I made half a batch and used almonds and almond extract in place of the topping and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States