Huckleberry-Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These are the best huckleberry scones I've ever had! Granted they're the first but as we're overloaded with wild huckleberries at our house we're always looking for new recipes. I didn't have any fresh lemon or zest so I left the zest out and used my old standby Minute Maid frozen lemon juice concentrate and they turned out fine. I can see how the zest would add another citrus dimension and look forward to doing them exactly as the recipe states soon. My husband took one bite, rolled his eyes in happiness and stated, "Killer scones. We won't be giving these away."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Not the best berry scones I've had, but they aren't bad. The dough is a bit wet, and the berries on the bottom got burnt, but there are no major issues. I made half a batch and used almonds and almond extract in place of the topping and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great great recipe! I substituted heavy cream in place of half and half- made the dough a little harder to handle although, they came out great! I did learn one thing- you have to use fresh berries!!!! I made one batch with fresh- perfect! The second time (actually in the oven right now) I thawed some of my once fresh berries I froze, they fall apart when folding in- I'm sure they'll be great but maybe next time I'll keep them frozen. Add some huckleberry juice to make the frosting and you're golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am no scone connoisseur...but these were easy and DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T...with only one exception. I had no huckleberries, so used thawed (purchased frozen) blueberries. I served these at Easter brunch and EVERYONE (boys and girls from 5 to 85) loved them and several asked for the recipe. Even my father-in-law, who usually thinks scones are too dry, loved these. I'm already planning to make them again next weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These scones were very good. I followed the recipe all except for the huckleberries. I substituted it with dried mango. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is a great spring or summer-time treat. I used blueberries instead of huckleberries. The only comment I have to make is that these were very tart/lemony - make sure to measure exactly or use a little bit less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I've been a baker of scones for almost 20 years and this recipe is absolutely a keeper. Those who worry about the "too wet" dough should add only the amount of liquid (eggs/cream/zest) that is needed to make the dough easy to handle. But if you pat it out on a floured surface, that shouldn't be a huge problem for most cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
YUM! The only change I made was using raspberries instead of the huckleberries. These are so light and not overly sweet. I make scones often and these are now on top of my list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good! I doubled the lemon juice and used dried blueberries. They turned out light and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States