Huckleberry-Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kimy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I didn't have huckleberries so I used a pear instead and they are just simply delicious!!! Yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was excellent. The texture is just perfect-not too flakey, not too cakey, but just right. In proper All Recipes fashion, I did make a few changes based on availability of ingredients. I used blackberries instead of huckleberries because we don't have huckleberries in Arizona. I hand cut the berries in half so they wouldn't be too big for the scone. Other reviews also said that they could be kind of tart, so I used 4.5 TBS of sugar instead of 3 TBS because my berries weren't particularly sweet. I didn't have half and half, so I used whole milk. And I haven't decided if I'm going to glaze them or not-I think they're perfectly yummy even without the glaze. It really makes exactly 12 nice sized scones-more if you make minis. But these will fly off the plate, so you better start by doubling, rather than having to go back and make more like I am doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My 12 year old son was in the mood to make breakfast this morning. He decided to make these scones, and they were very good. The only reason I didn't rate it five stars is that the dough was really sticky and difficult to work with. They are not very sweet, I would prefer them to be a tiny bit sweeter, but they were really good. We will make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
It's the lemon that attracted me to this recipe but I had to sub in blueberries as no huckleberries are available--they were still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good! I doubled the lemon juice and used dried blueberries. They turned out light and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
YUM! The only change I made was using raspberries instead of the huckleberries. These are so light and not overly sweet. I make scones often and these are now on top of my list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I've been a baker of scones for almost 20 years and this recipe is absolutely a keeper. Those who worry about the "too wet" dough should add only the amount of liquid (eggs/cream/zest) that is needed to make the dough easy to handle. But if you pat it out on a floured surface, that shouldn't be a huge problem for most cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is a great spring or summer-time treat. I used blueberries instead of huckleberries. The only comment I have to make is that these were very tart/lemony - make sure to measure exactly or use a little bit less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These scones were very good. I followed the recipe all except for the huckleberries. I substituted it with dried mango. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States