Huckleberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this recipe with raspberries. I also doubled it & used a 9" x 13" pan. It turns out great! After mixing the boiling water to the berries, I drained the berries before placing them atop the batter. This recipe is a keeper in our house.We brought it to church, everyone loved it! There wasn't a morsel left. Next time I'm adding vanilla extract to the batter. The cake was nice & light... I sprinkled sugar atop after it came out of the oven...Yummy (I noticed a lot of people thought it was too sweet, but since I was using raspberries I didn't adjust the sugar, other than doubling the entire recipe.) -Cynthia (Bakersgirl0506)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Push, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A bit too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Simple & delicious. I substituted frozen mixed berries and mixed them with only 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Needs something, but I'm not sure what. I might have to tinker with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Super easy with minimal ingredients and super delicious. I have baked quite a variety of cakes/pies using huckleberries before and this one is the easiest and most delicious. Having the berries on top Really brings out the flavor of the huckleberry rather than having it on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
i just made this but i used blackberries, they dont have huckleberries in northern california, it looks just like the pictures an smells so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I tried this the other night when my 11 year old picked a bunch of red huckleberries! This is such a great recipe. I have no complaints and wouldn't change a thing... I will definitely be using this for other types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonjjn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Would have gotten 5 stars but for the fact that it was a hair too sweet for me. Next time I will try only a 1/2 cup of sugar in the berry mix. Delicious flavor, though, and nice texture. I made it with fresh blueberries in a 9x13 pan... it cooked for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Very rich and sweet. Will be tweaking to our tastes for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was awesome! I just tried it out on my parents tonight as an experiment before taking one to a church function. My dad finished his, asked if there was any more left, then said he wanted to experiment some more. I used blueberries because we don't have huckleberries around here, and it took only 40 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the instructions to a T. I have a feeling I'll be in the kitchen again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States