Hubby's Pizza Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Well... let me start out by saying that my bread turned into a disaster. Part of it might have been operator error, but my bread didn't rise very well, and it was lumpy at best. It did, however, have a decent taste, and I think I might retry the recipe at a later date. Update: I was going through my breadmaker instruction manual- apparently all of the liquids (milk, for instance)are supposed to be at room temperature before adding them to the machine. So, I am sure that the majority of the lumpiness was due to my own error. Lesson learned. I'll try the recipe again soon and hopefully it will turn out better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I don't know if it was the recipe or because I baked the bread per instructions in the bread machine. It was disgusting. If I ever attempted to make this again, I would definitely choose to take it out of the machine after the dough cycle and bake it manually in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Rockin'! Mine is a 1.5 machine so to reduce I used: 3/4 c milk, 1/4 c warm water, 1/2 c shredded cheese, 2 oz pepperoni (3/4 at beginning and 1/4 @ nut beep, 1 tbs sugar. 1 tsp salt, 1 tbs butter, 2 tsp Parm, 2c bread flour & 1/3 c all purpose. 2 tsp yeast. (go a wee bit lighter on the yeast/sugar as it's not exact science and just a tiny bit too much for the rise.) Mods - threw in garlic salt & Italian seasoning. Wow, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I do not know what happened! We did not eat this bread. It was not 1 1/2 lb, I use mozz. cheese like another suggested. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irondequoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This recipe is great, I have my second batch in the maker right now. I did add some things to it though... A little more cheese, fresh garlic, pizza seasoning and some tomato paste... I'm already passing this around to friends and family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I added half of the pepperoni at the beginning and the rest when the fruits and nuts beep occurred so that there would still be chunks of pepperoni and that worked really well. This bread was good, but I little too dense for my taste. If you like dense bread and pizza - you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Had to make this as soon as I saw it. Followed the recipe almost exactly. I was skeptical about 16 oz of pepperoni--it just seemed like a lot to me. I used about 4-5 oz of pepperoni, and put it in at fruit and nut beep. One thing I've learned through trial and error about bread machines is that those kneaders are NOT kind to whole ingredients, so the later you add them the better off you'll be if you want chunks of the ingredient throughout the bread. My breadmaker did still tear up the pepperoni; however, I did get a loaf with smaller pieces of pepperoni throughout the bread. It tastes great. I'll admit that more pepperoni would have made for a more uniform loaf, but that's my bad since I questioned the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Don't let the picture fool you. That is how pepperoni bread looks. If you make the recipe as written, everything will be pulverized and your bread will be orange. We love pepperoni bread, but this is something very different. Will not make this again. My bread also did not cook all the way through on the light setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Great recipe, I did make it slightly differently though. I didn't use a bread machine. I let the dough rise in a greased container with chopped garlic. Next I beat it down and allowed it to rise again. After allowing the dough to rise the second time I rolled it out and covered it with sliced pepperoni a little more shredded cheddar and bacon bits. I rolled it together pinched the ends and allowed it to rise in the loaf pan and then baked it at 350 degrees. I used a garlic and herb cheddar cheese it was so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States