How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
EXCELLENT! Chef John has never let me down. This recipe was so easy, I found myself giving it over the phone to a friend without even looking at the recipe. I watched the video first which is always a plus. I did make one change and that was to use vanilla bean paste in place of vanilla extract. I like seeing the vanilla beans in the ice cream and the flavor was oh so good!!! Thank you Chef John for sharing such an EXCELLENT recipe! I will be making this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I think this is probably the BEST ice cream recipe ever! It's so easy to change the amounts of whipping cream and milk (I made it the 1st time as Chef John instructed). I liked more cream then milk and then I decided to add eggs to make it more creamy and rich. It was perfect! This is my new base recipe for making ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Awesome vanilla .. I now add different things like crushed Oreos chocolate chip or fruits for different favors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZaynsMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I give it five stars, though I make one really major change. I don't have the patience to wait overnight! You can use one can of sweetened condensed milk that's been chilled and you don't have to wait at all! Put any flavor in it you want. My personal favorite is lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Delicious simplicity! I was skeptical of the sparse list of ingredients, but I shouldn't have been! This ice cream is incredible! Everyone agrees... better than any other homemade recipe we've tried, and way WAY better than store bought! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was absolutely the BEST ice cream I have ever made. (Chef John never lets me down.) I love the simple and few ingredients needed. It tasted just like the ice cream I remember eating as a child from the little ice cream stand in my hometown. Will have to make a double batch tomorrow, this didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I am using this recipe for my latest cookbook. Congrats! I am a WebViewer and I view peoples ideas and try to get them out there and heard about! And you are one of the lucky ones for me to spot your recipe! If you would like to get known for this website in my latest cookbook, I will need you to tell me your first and last name and soon you will be a star! Thanks, Alexandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was great. Easy recipe, no raw eggs. This was our first time ever making ice cream. We followed the directions exactly, including leaving the stuff to chill overnight. Some of the best vanilla ice cream I've ever had. I can't wait to try it again with some other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Its the only ice cream recipe I use. It's simple and yummy. Also, it's a great base recipe in that you can add whatever flavoring you want. Today I made this and then divided the milk mixture into separate containers, then I flavored each container differently (root beer, peppermint and vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I've made lots of ice cream....this one does not work for the good ol' fashioned ice cream maker. The wooden kind with the motor on top. I've had this thing running for 2 hours now and it's just slush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States