How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I made two batches of ice cream following this recipe exactly. I was very disappointed. I used the kitchenaid ice cream maker attachment, left the bowl in the freezer for well over 24 hours, and let my milk/cream/sugar mixture chill to 36 degrees before beginning. It churned for 40 minutes the first time, and barely got post the slush stage. It also tastes more like flavorless ice milk. For the second batch I tried using it as a base for cookies n' cream, but that turned out horribly. I let it churn for about 25 minutes until it was looking thick, added in my crushed Oreos, and it turned to complete slush. After churning for an hour it never became thick or creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Rollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I followed this recipe. It was excellent in taste and very good in creaminess. Also extremely simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
First homemade ice cream I loved! This recipe is clean and delicious with the perfect texture. I used whole milk and pure vanilla. I let it cool in fridge for 3 hours before adding it to my Kitchen Aid ice cream mixer bowl attachment. 20 minutes later, the most delicious ice cream I've ever had. I froze the remainder in a ziploc container and it remained scoopable after 24 hours. It wasn't a solid brick of ice as I've experienced in the past with home churned ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It was great but instead of whipping cream. I used cool whip and some homage butter milk (cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very Nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was absolutely the BEST ice cream I have ever made. (Chef John never lets me down.) I love the simple and few ingredients needed. It tasted just like the ice cream I remember eating as a child from the little ice cream stand in my hometown. Will have to make a double batch tomorrow, this didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Its the only ice cream recipe I use. It's simple and yummy. Also, it's a great base recipe in that you can add whatever flavoring you want. Today I made this and then divided the milk mixture into separate containers, then I flavored each container differently (root beer, peppermint and vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
this one does not work for the good ol' fashioned ice cream maker. The wooden kind with the motor on top. I've had this thing running for 2 hours now and it's just slush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was great. Easy recipe, no raw eggs. This was our first time ever making ice cream. We followed the directions exactly, including leaving the stuff to chill overnight. Some of the best vanilla ice cream I've ever had. I can't wait to try it again with some other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Delicious simplicity! I was skeptical of the sparse list of ingredients, but I shouldn't have been! This ice cream is incredible! Everyone agrees... better than any other homemade recipe we've tried, and way WAY better than store bought! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States