How to Make Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I have made this several times.... I added a bit of vinegar at the end and it was even better! Rounded out the flavors beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is a meal in itself. I've made it two or three times. It can be thicker, like a stew, or thinner, as in a bisque. I had no celery, so each time I used chopped leeks, green and white parts. I added minced carrots once. I'm going to try adding white corn just at the end (to avoid overcooking, which toughens corn) next. Twice I used the heavy cream called for, and once I used the standard substitution of 3/4 cup milk, and 1/3 cup of butter, divided in half for 1/2 cup of cream. (Don't worry - you'll be making this soup again very soon, and use up the remaining 1/2 cup of "cream"!)Once I used Arborio rice, which is what's used for thick and creamy risotto, which was perfect for this recipe. A bit of cooked chorizo sausage on top might be tasty when serving, or Greek yogurt or sour cream or a sprinkling of feta cheese - you get the idea, this is incredibly versatile! Stick to the exact recipe for a straight, wonderful bisque, or go crazy with additions! And, you'll probably have all the ingredients in your pantry already, another plus. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this for friends I n the first cold night this fall. I'm glad I makes a lot because they wanted more. Chef John never disappoints. Followed the recipe and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wow! Great meal, easy to do, and fed four comfortably. Highly recommended with a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Easy and always welcome in my Family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful! My only addition was crumbled Feta cheese just before serving instead of more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I thought this recipe was wonderful. It was well received by my dinner guests also. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Instead of half and half I added Pecorino grated cheese and low fat lactose free milk! Delish! Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delious!! I however did make one change and added sweet potatoes for a thicker more filling consistency. Other than that great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This soup recipe is a keeper! The rice made it beautifully silky and gave it a great mouth-feel. Tasted better the next day. I used a leek from our local farmer's market in leu of onion. I didn't find either the garlic or leek taste overwhelming in the least. Just tomato front and center!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

How to Make a Cherry Tomato Rose

See how to carve a rose from a cherry tomato.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States