How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
For those who've had trouble with the white sticking to the shell, the problem is not with the recipe...it's that the eggs are too fresh! You should buy your eggs about a week ahead of the time you want to boil them, and let them sit in the refrigerator (do check the date on the eggs to make sure they will still be fresh enough to cook). The longer the eggs sit in the fridge, the easier they will be to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Worked for me! But some of my eggs were hard to peel... Could be the recipe or the age of the eggs? I may try the other recipe that does ice water then boiling again then ice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a tried and true method for perfectly cooked hard-boiled eggs... and the only method I've used for years. (I used to struggle mightily to hard-cook a decent egg.) For those who are complaining about the yolks being undercooked, perhaps you are starting your 17-minute timing a bit prematurely. One should wait until the eggs themselves start to "dance" on the bottom of the pan; this is the exact time to turn off the heat, cover, and set your timer for exactly 17 minutes. Do not remove the saucepan from the burner; I believe the residual heat to be an essential part of completing the process correctly. Oh, and following these directions explicitly has always produced eggs that are easy to peel... but only after complete cooling. (After cooling according to the directions posted in Chef John's recipe, I usually cool them in the fridge for at least an additional hour before peeling.) I hope these suggestions are helpful to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
After following the directions as listed, I was very disappointed with how the eggs turned out. The whites clung to the shell and the yolks were barely hard...resembling cool molasses. This is not a recipe I'd save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I'm a big fan of Chef John, but these instructions did not work for me. Followed the directions and the yokes were done perfectly, but the egg shell would not separate from the shell. Tried cold water and then warm water to no avail. So a large part of the egg white went down the disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Didn't work at all. I don't know what I did different from you, but did the 17min thing and then the 20 min thing. Still runny HELP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tylyn6223
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I am awful at making hard boiled eggs even though it's seemingly easy, but this recipe helped me make the best batch I've ever made! And peeling the eggs under cold water was easy and fast, no frustrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Awesome and perfect egg also, the shell came off without egg on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Perfect eggs! This is my go to hard boiled egg recipe! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rixeyville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I didn't know how *wrong* my eggs were until I made them the right way. These were not green, they were not rubbery, and creamy is exactly how I'd describe them. Just a simple change in technique has turned a food I never touched into a favorite snack. Thanks for teaching us the basics, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States