How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Excellent recipe!! Many smiles and MMMMmmmm's going on in my house when I make them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was a fail for me. My eggs turned out like soft-boiled eggs -- runny centers. No way would they make deviled eggs! I have a couple of thoughts: One reviewer says "I bet we share the same misconception of what "simmer" means". Perhaps, but the video very clearly depicted a very mild simmer. The eggs might have been just starting to "dance", but they were not "violently dancing" as another reviewer suggests they should. The other comment that I think makes some sense is to not remove the pan from the burner because the residual heat helps to cook them. That only works if you are using an electric cooktop. Gas cooktops don't retain enough heat. This is similar to the technique I have used for years from my old Betty Crocker Cookbook which says to bring the eggs and cold water to a boil quickly and then cover and remove from heat. Let them stand 22 to 24 minutes. I tried Chef John's timing this time. I won't be using it again. The proof is in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the directions strictly and I got the result of raw eggs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I agree this recipe is awesome. The eggs were GRRRRREEAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Maybe it was beginner's luck, but this recipe worked great! I know how to cook LOTS of things, but I had never made boiled eggs!! I had a craving for them and came here so I wouldn't screw them up! My eggs came out perfect!! Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
They are absolutely perfect just added some fresh cracked black
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trailrider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Perfect every time! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I just wasted 6 eggs and disappointed my son. The shell stuck to the whites and the yolk was not fully cooked. Thanks bunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This recipe is a little iffy to me. I boil water then prime my eggs with hot tap water before adding them to the boiling water so they don't crack open from temperature change. Then boil for 10-12 minutes. Pour out the boiling water and rinse in cold water. This always works for me and I am happy with it. If I don't prime the eggs sure enough one will crack open; that always seems happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States