How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Love this recipe - I make everything from scratch and this one is a keeper for sure! Very well balanced but make sure to use really good tomatoes (organic if you can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Delicious! I only had a can of crushed tomatoes on hand, so I just used that. Also, skipped the fresh oregano, as I had none on hand and I reduced the crushed pepper flakes to 1/4 teaspoon b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for the little girls. Really, REALLY great pizza sauce...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Won't use any other pizza sauce. I do skip the anchovies but still excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time last night. Worked great! Followed the recipe to the letter. Why try and improve on the new improved recipe? Made enough for two 14 1/2 pizzas. I plan to make this again ahead of time and freeze. One note for those with (sheltered) children under the age of 14 or so. Don't let them see you drop in the anchovies. "What - what are those black oily things that look like slugs? Are those slugs?! Are you putting in slugs?!" After a few minutes of reassurance and promises I was not punkin' anyone in my family all calmed down and trusted their father. And they agreed that they could not taste the "slugs" and the sauce was delicious. I was granted permission to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this for my first ever home made pizza - so much better than the store bought that comes on the pizza I usually buy just to add stuff to. Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love spicy food, but was definitely surprised at how spicy this pizza sauce was. Maybe it well mellow out once it's on the actual pizza. One important note for you "scientist" cooks out there: that 2 to 3 minutes of cooking the fresh oregano might be too long. I would just cook the fresh oregano for maybe half a minute--in reality just until the leaves barely wilted--then add the other ingredients. I ended up with burnt oregano in my sauce. Not sure this recipe is going to stand the test of time for me. It's easy to make, and not bad, but I'm going to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly except I didn't have fresh oregano on hand. I love anchovies but was a little hesitant about using them as it might not appeal to others. However, it gave the sauce an extra layer of flavor with no anchovy fishy taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very Good. Vegetarians, so we skipped the anchovy fillets and substituted in half the caraway seeds mentioned in another review along with an equal amount of fennel seeds. Turned out really good and will be freezing the leftovers in one ladle servings for future use. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This Pizza Sauce is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was awesome sauce. I thought I would have to add more sugar but for some reason I think the baking soda really did take out that acidic taste. Amazing. I could NOT find fresh oregano...so sadly I used 2 teaspoon of dry. It was still good but I can't wait to make it with fresh. I did use anchovy fillets but I might try paste next time for convenience and see if I notice. This is now MY traditional pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States