How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahm Ofthree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I used to go to a pizza joint in Dallas the made the best pizza ever. Their sauce made the pizza. When they closed because of the death of the owner, I asked one of the son's what made their sauce to good. He said two things that other don't use. Anchovies and caraway seeds. I made this recipe and at the last minute remembered the seeds. I added about a third teaspoon of freshly crushed Caraway seed. Man, dats some good sauce! Blender Woman, If you're that picky, cut back on the pepper, don't dog the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Chef John you are killing me. Your recipes tend to have good base flavors, until the heat attacks me. It is so over-whelming in this recipe and others I have tried. I don't do heat well and this was crazy hot with the red pepper flakes. I had all of the ingredients but the anchovies and just added some salt. I even used the San Marzano tomatoes suggested! I planned this for a pizza, but am now going to save it for my heat loving husband in pasta or another dish this weekend. Guess, I am back to my basic no heat pizza sauce for dinner tonight. Luckily, its quick to mix up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Once again Chef John another excellent recipe!! Very easy to make and the taste is the best. I agree you need to use the 2 oregano's that's where most of your flavor comes from. I will try to find San Marzano tomatoes next time though, my sauce was kind of watery even though it cooked for almost two hours. My boo-boo. I think everybody should try this you won't be disappointed. My hubby and kids want homemade pizzas every week now!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yep, this is the ONE. The two oreganos are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Well balanced. I made exactly as written with the TINY exception of using anchovy paste in a tube. I got lucky and found 2 cans of San Marzano (Cento) tomatoes in the dent bin last week and they were half off. Perfect way to use them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I helped my 9-year-old make this sauce (exactly as written) for one of our pizzas. Her eyes widened as she tasted the result of her work. Mine did as well. Thanks for sharing this Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this recipe a second time exactly as written with San Marzano tomatoes this time. It was perfect using San Marzano tomatoes and didn't need the addition of wine as I had added the first time. I used 1-1/2 Tbsp of anchovy paste this time, my preference. This pizza sauce recipe is my mainstay from here on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States