How to Make Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Used a quart jar and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream. My kidlets did the first 10 minutes but got distracted with a memory card game. Finished processing in food processor. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I had never heard of this before, and I was so proud of myself for making homemade butter! lol It tastes good, I would add a bit of salt next time. Thank you Chef John, you're right, it was fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
When I was a kid, which is 70 yrs ago, my grandma used to sit us on the floor and give us each a quart mason jar to shake til we made butter. We (5 of us) thought this was great fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I must be the only adult in the world who never did this as a kid so in an effort to recapture my youth, I tried this. What fun.. and soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
If you desire to make a larger amount, be sure to work some cold water through your butter to prevent an "off" flavor during storage. As you are making a small amount with this recipe, I am sure it will be used quickly rather than stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I did this myself over 50 years ago when I was in kindergarden! I still remember it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Hello Chef John, I tried this the first time with a pre-school class. The kids loved doing this activity. Here is a hint to make it much easier. Throw a clean marble in the jar. When you have a lot of anxious kids ready to shake the jar it goes by pretty fast. When it turned to butter, they used plastic butter knives to spread their own on warmed homemade banana bread. They really enjoyed learning about dairy products and how to make their own butter, almost more than learning to make ice cream in a coffee can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States