How to Make Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This has to be the best recipe ever! I have to double and sometimes triple the recipe because the biscuits are so good they go super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ldtott
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I just baked these biscuit and I absolutely loved them. I followed the recipe, just not the directions. (What can I say, I'm a rebel) All I did was brush them with milk instead of butter....lol and my oven was preheated at 400 and they rose a little higher, seems like, than the picture featured. But they are so light and fluffy. I'm gonna add sweet potatoes and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made lots of biscuits in the last year, all with slightly different tweaks. I've tried famous name brand recipes, celebrity chef recipes, and highly rated recipes. This is the one that has gotten the highest praise. It seems way too simple, doesn't it? No pastry blender needed! This was the first biscuit recipe I tried when I began this quest for baked perfection, and after all the different attempts, it has not been topped. I am a novice baker, too, so I don't have experience, skills, or special cooking tools. I simply watched Chef John's video repeatedly until I worked up enough courage to bake biscuits for my husband, the son of the world's greatest Southern cook. You can't lose with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These are the best biscuits I ever made! This was much better than the buttermilk biscuits I used to make. I am always and forever hooked on cream biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
My kids enjoyed these, but I prefer my biscuits buttery and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
5 Star, these biscuits are wonderful. Their very easy to make and are light and fluffy. My husband raved over them. I didn't have self-rising flour, but looked it up in AllRecipies and made my own, which was very simple. Again these biscuits are FABULOUS once you try them you will never go back to whatever recipe you were using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are absolutely amazing! So much quicker and easier than the biscuits I usually make, you know, where everything has to be super cold and all that. This is so much easier, and the end result is fantastic. I didn't have any problems with the dough being too "soupy" or too sticky, as some of the other comments said. I was surprised at how wonderful this dough was to work with. Just one thing, they are kinda sweet, which is delicious, but depending on what you're planning on doing with the biscuits, you may want to cut back a bit on the sugar. After dinner, we were all standing around the stove, munching on the leftover biscuits, straight from the baking sheet. Yum! Oh, I did change the oven temperature, simply because 500 made me nervous. I baked them at 450, and they came out perfectly. But that was just me being chicken. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
SO easy (my 3 yr old helped make them) and the flavor is wonderful! I used parchment paper instead of foil for lining my pan and the bottoms came out lightly golden. Just perfect! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I had to make my own self-rising flour since I didn't have any on hand, by adding 1 teaspoon of salt and 3 teaspoons of baking powder to he 2 cups of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe about 10 times in the last few months. We like this as much as my home made bread. But, this is a lot faster. The temperature of 500 degrees is correct. The aluminum foil keeps the biscuits from burning. But - get the biscuits off the hot cookie sheet ASAP after brushing with butter. Put them on a cooling rack to finish cool. These taste great for 2 - 3 days after cooking. The melted butter added before cooking adds flavor. The melted butter after cooking produces a nicely browned look. Flipping over the ends and re-rolling produces a layered flaky biscuit - easy to spread jam on or eat without any toppings. I do not have a round cutter. So I cut these into squares or rectangles. The taste is the same and it cuts down on the preparation time. The recipe can be doubled or quadrupled without any changes (except sometimes adding a little more fluid) The recipe can be made with a combination of 1/3rd milk and 2/3rds cream. Just make sure you brush the biscuits with butter before cooking and the taste and texture is almost the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very quick and easy. Can make using your own self-rising flour. I add 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar. Just fits into my toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States