How to Make Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My new biscuit recipe. Chef John is funny and entertaining to watch, but that aside, these biscuits are just amazing. No matter how well you blend lard/butter into your flour, it's just not possible to get it as fine as the fat molecules in the cream. So, the texture of cream biscuits is just on a whole new level. These recipe is excellent to be so easy to make. My only caution is too hang in there on the cook time. It's a high temp and I got nervous and pull them too early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I tweaked this recipe by using 2 cups cream and baking at 375F for 15 minutes, checking for color, and adding a few minutes to achieve the desired golden color. I also folded the dough an extra time for extra flakiness. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This has to be the best recipe ever! I have to double and sometimes triple the recipe because the biscuits are so good they go super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ldtott
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I just baked these biscuit and I absolutely loved them. I followed the recipe, just not the directions. (What can I say, I'm a rebel) All I did was brush them with milk instead of butter....lol and my oven was preheated at 400 and they rose a little higher, seems like, than the picture featured. But they are so light and fluffy. I'm gonna add sweet potatoes and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made lots of biscuits in the last year, all with slightly different tweaks. I've tried famous name brand recipes, celebrity chef recipes, and highly rated recipes. This is the one that has gotten the highest praise. It seems way too simple, doesn't it? No pastry blender needed! This was the first biscuit recipe I tried when I began this quest for baked perfection, and after all the different attempts, it has not been topped. I am a novice baker, too, so I don't have experience, skills, or special cooking tools. I simply watched Chef John's video repeatedly until I worked up enough courage to bake biscuits for my husband, the son of the world's greatest Southern cook. You can't lose with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These are the best biscuits I ever made! This was much better than the buttermilk biscuits I used to make. I am always and forever hooked on cream biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
My kids enjoyed these, but I prefer my biscuits buttery and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
5 Star, these biscuits are wonderful. Their very easy to make and are light and fluffy. My husband raved over them. I didn't have self-rising flour, but looked it up in AllRecipies and made my own, which was very simple. Again these biscuits are FABULOUS once you try them you will never go back to whatever recipe you were using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are absolutely amazing! So much quicker and easier than the biscuits I usually make, you know, where everything has to be super cold and all that. This is so much easier, and the end result is fantastic. I didn't have any problems with the dough being too "soupy" or too sticky, as some of the other comments said. I was surprised at how wonderful this dough was to work with. Just one thing, they are kinda sweet, which is delicious, but depending on what you're planning on doing with the biscuits, you may want to cut back a bit on the sugar. After dinner, we were all standing around the stove, munching on the leftover biscuits, straight from the baking sheet. Yum! Oh, I did change the oven temperature, simply because 500 made me nervous. I baked them at 450, and they came out perfectly. But that was just me being chicken. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
SO easy (my 3 yr old helped make them) and the flavor is wonderful! I used parchment paper instead of foil for lining my pan and the bottoms came out lightly golden. Just perfect! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I had to make my own self-rising flour since I didn't have any on hand, by adding 1 teaspoon of salt and 3 teaspoons of baking powder to he 2 cups of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States