How to Make Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrancineL
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Mmmm...! Bacon and sausage sauté in butter!!! - almost impossible to go wrong. It is definitely not low-cal but once in awhile, everyone should indulge themselves. I didn't change a thing except I sprinkled with a pinch of smoked paprika at the end. I served it with Cheddar-Thyme Flaky Biscuits, also on this site. This is another keeper. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
We were searching for the gravy over greens recipe. Found a different one but wasn't the our gramma made. This recipe is the exact match we were looking for . Try it with bacon sliced 1/4" pieces and add fresh leaf spinach just before the mix is boiling. Let simmer but keep striring until the leaves are tender and slippery. Great Meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is very good gravy. Ice been trying to make a sausage gravy for years and it's always been so bland. This has plenty of flavor, the whole family loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love the addition of bacon, but I've got to ask, why peel the casings from link sausage instead of using bulk sausage? I like Jimmy Dean country sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I make mine with hot chub sausage and there's no need for the cayenne pepper. I learned how to make it from my Mother who in turn learned it from hers. Scratch biscuits are the perfect match for this gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Lett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this gravy yesterday and it is wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe Springs, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonFosson
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
II give this one five stars for being a delicious gravy! Yes, I tried it. And the only change I made was to use maple syrup flavored sausage links for the sausage. It was a perfect breakfast gravy over biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
We loved it! I used homemade turkey breakfast sausage since I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this gravy tonight. Just had an urge for gravy! Made exactly as stated. Put it on a toasted english muffin, pure heaven. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very similar to the version I was taught by my grandmother. I have tweaked the recipe several times over the years, based on the changes to my pallet. My current version uses chorizo sausage, which gives the gravy a pink-ish hue & extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States