How to Make Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Love the addition of bacon, but I've got to ask, why peel the casings from link sausage instead of using bulk sausage? I like Jimmy Dean country sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I make mine with hot chub sausage and there's no need for the cayenne pepper. I learned how to make it from my Mother who in turn learned it from hers. Scratch biscuits are the perfect match for this gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Lett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this gravy yesterday and it is wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe Springs, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonFosson
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
II give this one five stars for being a delicious gravy! Yes, I tried it. And the only change I made was to use maple syrup flavored sausage links for the sausage. It was a perfect breakfast gravy over biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
We loved it! I used homemade turkey breakfast sausage since I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this gravy tonight. Just had an urge for gravy! Made exactly as stated. Put it on a toasted english muffin, pure heaven. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very similar to the version I was taught by my grandmother. I have tweaked the recipe several times over the years, based on the changes to my pallet. My current version uses chorizo sausage, which gives the gravy a pink-ish hue & extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Yummy! It's a little different from my family's recipe as far as ingredients are concerned, but it came out super tasty with great texture, and we'll be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have done my own cream gravy for years, and I'm not a fan of lots of onion. But I try to follow any new recipe just as it's written the first time, then 'tweak' it if I choose to make it again. So I used the onions and the cayenne, and put it over biscuits...and it was really good! Next time, I'll probably use less onion, and paprika instead of cayenne, but this was an interesting variation on my 'plain old bacon grease gravy'--thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My grandmother made this and called it milk gravy which it is. I don't usually make my country gravy with onions and bacon, but I really liked this version! It was very flavorful! We had it with Chef John's biscuits. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States