How to Make Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Delicious and easy to make sauce is now a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee Beattie Totten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This is absolutely the best quick bolognese I've never tried. It doesn't look like much (I find the photo to give it a much richer red look than the sauce actually has), but it is delicious. And fast! I didn't make any changes to the recipe. It's great just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
YUM - made this as written and it was so delicious. It takes forever to make (each reducing step takes probably 30 minutes), and I ended up transferring the tomato mixture to my slow cooker so I could simmer it for 8 hours. The end result was fabulous, so much depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
My kids love it! That's huge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Greenburg
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I did it exactly as he advised with one exception. I had cut up steak I had to use so I didn't use ground beef. Seriously, this is like one of the best sauces I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Greenburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe! Made it as called for but without the cayenne pepper. As mentioned by many already, the timing on the steps took longer than the approx. 5 minutes given. This was easy, delicious and worth the extra time. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Loved this recipe, added 4 cloves of garlic minced, which was sautéed with the other vegetables, used meatloaf mix (veal, pork, beef mix) for the meat and my usual Italian seasonings. I did not use cayenne but some red pepper flakes instead. I followed the rest to a T and it was outrageously delicious. My 1st attempt at Bolognese thank you chef for a wonderful addition to our most loved pasta sauces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This recipe is INCREDIBLE. The sauce turned out perfect and had amazing flavor. I will definitely be making this again as my new secret weapon recipe! I did make a few small tweaks though. I left out the cayenne pepper (I don't like spicy things), and the times listed in the recipe weren't that accurate for me. Definitely ignore the "5 minutes" suggestions throughout... you need more time to soften the vegetables and let the various liquids thicken and evaporate. I likened it to making risotto... a lot of babysitting and waiting. I hate when the veggies are crunchy, so I cook the heck out of mine before adding in the meat. It made a big difference. I also didn't need to cook for the 3-6 hours as suggested. Mine looked to be the right consistency after about 2.5 hours (including the initial mixing/browning steps) so I pulled it off the heat and served it at that point. I may consider cooking it longer (and just adding water throughout) next time when I have more time to let the flavor develop, but even with the shorter time, this turned out fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gnaps
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe!! Easy to make and tastes great. I would only add that the timing is a little off. The recipe suggests 5 minutes for most of the steps where I found I had to let it cook 10-15 minutes to get the sauce to the perfect consistency. That's my only criticism. Otherwise, great sauce to try especially on a cold Sunday afternoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Awesome recipe! Would change just a few things - I would add fresh minced garlic to the sauteed veggies, and add my seasonings there. Cooking them in the oil I find generally brings out more of the flavor. I would also add oregano or Italian seasoning blend - although a great sauce, wasn't super flavorful and that's my preference. Otherwise, I think it's a definite keeper and just in time for the weather to turn chilly. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States