Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was pretty good! Make sure you use a good whole wheat bread, and cube your bread pretty small so it mixes in well with the whole recipe. My husband is a vegetarian, and he really enjoyed this. I used all reduced fat and fat free ingredients and it turned out splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This was fantastic! Served it for Christmas brunch and it was enjoyed by all. The best parts were the little pockets of cream cheese. Can't wait to reheat the leftovers! Edit: My inlaws have appointed me the holiday chef from now on, so you know this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very good and satisfying. Nice looking too. I didn't have green bell pepper so used yellow instead. I also didn't have zucchini, but added Italian sausage instead. I also cut the cream cheese down to 1 8 oz package, but will try it with the full amount of cream cheese at some point, since it wasn't really strong. I used a really herby bread, which went along with the other flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is good basic recipe and is much easier to serve for a large crowd than quiche as it cuts into nice solid squares. I sauteed the veggies in a bit of cooking sherry instead of oil and ommitted the garlic. As was suggested by another reviewer I cut back to 1-8 ounce package of cream cheese and that seemed plenty. The cream cheese adds a surprisingly good flavor and texture. I might try this again, but add ham or sausage and play with the veggies a bit. It might be great with green chiles or salsa! Also instead of the wheat bread I used 3 generous slices of Challah bread (which I cubed and left out overnight to dry a bit). I sauteed the veggies the night before which maked this dish very quick to throw together the next morning. Certainly a good staple for a brunch buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This got rave reviews from our guests, most went back for a second helping! I cut back on the veggies a little bit and added a pound of pork sausage cooked with a teaspoon of rubbed sage; cooked the veggies in the sausage drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Every one in this household loves this one! It disappears quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This was very easy to make. The only thing I added was broccoli. It came out sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Have not tried it hot yet, but served it cold at my son's baptism & it was gone before I could go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This Frittata was outstanding. I only added one package of cream cheese, and added 2 garlic and onion bagels cut up instead of the 4 piece of bread. It was really good, and turned out light and fluffy. I also added 2 extra eggs and used skim evaporated milk. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was excellent hot (and later, cold!). I served this to guests, and it flew off the platter! Next time, I won't add oil, and just saute in my nonstick pan (or spritz with Pam). I used chopped mushrooms, and with those and the oil, I ended up with a soggy mess in the saute pan. I had to drain/press out the liquid. If I hadn't, this would have been too soggy to eat. Next time I will add meat and/or veggies to this: sausage, chopped ham, crab, asparagus, broccoli, Swiss cheese, etc., would be some wonderful additions. I used one brick of reg cream cheese, and one of fat free. Next time, I'll try this with Egg Beaters. Also, be sure to butter the 9x13 pan well, to help get these out. I took them out when they were just out of the oven; if I had waited much longer, maybe they would have stuck a little more to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States